Help me pick a PSP!

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by lostreverie, Dec 21, 2009.

Dec 21, 2009

Help me pick a PSP! by lostreverie at 5:21 PM (1,607 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

1. lostreverie
    OP

Newcomer lostreverie Advanced Member

United States
    It seems like the PSP-2000 model is the one to go with, being lighter and being able to have custom firmware easily installed. But are there reasons to go for the 1000? Or is there an easy way to tell (just by looking) if a 3000 model can be hacked? I'm looking around these forums and it seems like the 3000 is only sort of hackable and only on earlier firmwares (which could be hard to find), so it seems like it might not be worth the trouble.

2. Raika

Member Raika uguu

Antarctica
    Don't get a 3000, get either the 1000 or one of the earlier versions of the 2000 which uses the older motherboards. (I have no idea which ones though, I'm not an expert)

3. prowler

Member prowler Sony

United Kingdom
    If your looking for a 3000 go to this thread http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=191043
    If its a 2000, they are like 50/50 i would suggest getting a pre-owned 2K
    if its a 1000, they are 100% hackable

V3 motherboard (on some 2000 and on all 3000) only can be semi-hackable, that means once you have turned the PSP off, you have to hack it all over again. Also if the firmware is above 5.03 you will not be able to hack it at all.

4. soulfire

Member soulfire gear... secando

Netherlands
    go 2000

cheap easy and you will love it

there is really no difference between 3000 and 2000 only slightly better screen and microphone but that is not worth the extra money you pay for it

so go 2000

5. lostreverie
    OP

United States
    So there are no downsides to getting a 3000 if the firmware is below 5.5? If that's the case I'll look around for a deal and let price be my guide.

6. prowler

Member prowler Sony

United Kingdom
    3000 are not fully hackable..

7. soulfire