[HELP] How to "Jailbreak" a 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by zecarlos123, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. zecarlos123
    OP

    zecarlos123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Mar 3, 2016
    Brazil
    Hello everyone.
    recently bought a 3DS and want to know what is necessary to play several games , if you know me :P

    I've had a normal DS with acekard 2i , but stopped using a long time and now I bought this 3DS and noticed that no longer just put the card ( acekard2i ) . it takes much more right?

    The 3DS version has 6.1.0-12E .

    I 'm " new " in this " world " so sincerely grateful for the help of anyone and would be very grateful !

    and excuse my bad English :P

    Best regards,
    ZeCarlos :)
     
  2. Filo97

    Filo97 Zelda's totally my sister! Not lying!

    Member
    3,637
    1,209
    Oct 8, 2015
    Italy
    Hyrule Castle
    please, don't double post.
     
    ldeveraux likes this.
  3. zecarlos123
    OP

    zecarlos123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Mar 3, 2016
    Brazil
    i was trying delete the other ... sorry for that

    Can you help me?
     
  4. Filo97

    Filo97 Zelda's totally my sister! Not lying!

    Member
    3,637
    1,209
    Oct 8, 2015
    Italy
    Hyrule Castle
    1. it isn't jailbreak, it is to softmod.
    2. it isn't like on ios that you run a software and badabam you are softmodded, it's harder, and i don't know if i can help you thriugh everything, cause i never had a software version 6.X.
     
  5. zecarlos123
    OP

    zecarlos123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Mar 3, 2016
    Brazil
    thanks dude. i really dont know that thing :P
    and if i update my 3ds to 9.x version? can i do that?
     
  6. Filo97

    Filo97 Zelda's totally my sister! Not lying!

    Member
    3,637
    1,209
    Oct 8, 2015
    Italy
    Hyrule Castle
    first you must install cfw, a normal system update is like updating a jailbroken ios, every possibilty of hack will be destroyed.
     
  7. pokemoner2500

    pokemoner2500 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    846
    276
    Aug 14, 2013
    United States
    I pwned U!, prototech and Favna like this.
  8. zecarlos123
    OP

    zecarlos123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Mar 3, 2016
    Brazil
  9. pokemoner2500

    pokemoner2500 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    846
    276
    Aug 14, 2013
    United States
    Did you read the guide? It says everything. But since you once again must be spoon-fed no you do not need one.
     
  10. Bros.Life

    Bros.Life GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    181
    20
    Apr 12, 2015
    United States
    The CFW is one of the methods to install unsigned CIA files (the games you wanna play) that doesn't require flashcards. You also may choose to use a flashcard. Read more about Gateway and Sky3DS. However, those two card will have cost for you while installing a CFW you are free of charges. You just need to figure out a way (find a tutorial) to get the system version from 6.1.0-12E to between 9.0 - 9.2. Above that you might lose the ability to use CFW. And then follow another tutorial to install CFW (with Emunand and etc).

    PS: Before start doing, make sure to have a big SD Card. I would recommend at least 16GB.

    PS2: Some steps and files are different for New 3DS and Old3DS. Therefore, make sure to follow the guide which matches with your device.
     
    Last edited by Bros.Life, Mar 3, 2016
  11. zecarlos123
    OP

    zecarlos123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Mar 3, 2016
    Brazil
    but then in your opinion, should I use flashcard?
    I think it is safer because it has no risk to brick the console. but with the card I can not use the CIA (who I think is to play games with new, right software?)

    PS: how can i see if my DS is new ou old??
     
    Last edited by zecarlos123, Mar 3, 2016
  12. Zabhahs

    Zabhahs Goron

    Member
    188
    41
    Sep 20, 2015
    United States
    Seattle area
    The new 3ds (n3ds) has a little rubber c-stick on the right hand side above the buttons. You probably have an old 3ds (o3ds). You also must be on system version 9.2 or under to have the ability to use cfw.
     
  13. Viri

    Viri GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,215
    1,077
    Sep 13, 2009
    United States
  14. Bros.Life

    Bros.Life GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    181
    20
    Apr 12, 2015
    United States
    CIA games are e-shops games. Until now with CIA games you can go online with any unsigned CIA because CIA games don't have header. If you use a flashcard you gotta find .3dz or .3ds games, dumps from cartridge. Those are the only files compatibles with flashcards.

    I have a SKY3DS. It's really easier and "safer". However, you can't go online unless you inject private headers to your roms, which is more work. I personally don't know how to do it.

    After installed a CFW I feel much better now. You have more options to play and you can customize you 3DS. You can inject games into official emulators and play any game as virtual console, such as GBA, NES, GENs and GB.

    If you get some knowledge before installing CFW you will run out of riskys to brick your console. Just make sure to know what you're doing and grab the necessary files to your console model and region. The more complicated part will be getting to the right firmware to use CFW. I don't know how you procced since you are in 6.1 firmware. Belive me, once you get a compatible firmware, installing the cfw is very safe. Just takes time.
    So, I strongly encourage you go through CFW. To be able to use custom firmware I had one single shot to make a downgrade in my device (which is more dangerous). Therefore, takes advantage of your current situation. Do not update your system and get ready to read some guides.

    The NEW3DS has extra button. C-Stick, ZR and ZL buttons. Just google it and you will see differences.
     
    Last edited by Bros.Life, Mar 4, 2016
  15. zecarlos123
    OP

    zecarlos123 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Mar 3, 2016
    Brazil

    Ty dude.
    One more question. my 3DS have a 4Gb memory card, if i buy a bigger (16Gb) in the future can i move all the things to this new card and make that work perfectly ?
     
  16. Seiji Tanaka

    Seiji Tanaka Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    58
    9
    Nov 2, 2015
    Yes. Also I recommend taking backups of the SD-card in case something goes wrong.
     
  17. Bros.Life

    Bros.Life GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    181
    20
    Apr 12, 2015
    United States
    As @Seiji Tanaka has said, yes! There's a guide explaining how to do it.
    But keep in your mind 4GB is really small to cfw. Emunand takes around 1GB of your SD. You will barely have space to install games.
     
  18. Seriel

    Seriel Worshipper of Skiddos

    Member
    2,703
    4,730
    Aug 18, 2015
    If you have a game which contains the 9.2 update you can use that to get straight to the latest FW thas exploitable.
     
    Bros.Life likes this.
  19. Zabhahs

    Zabhahs Goron

    Member
    188
    41
    Sep 20, 2015
    United States
    Seattle area
    I set up CFW on 4gb and i installed a few games. Its really just a matter of if you want large games like monster hunter or lots of VC or smaller eshop games like mario kart
     
    Bros.Life likes this.
  20. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,857
    2,238
    May 11, 2008
    United States
    I recommend you follow this guide to setup rxTools emuNAND. When you're done, you can follow the instructions in the guide to update sysNAND to 9.2 and use menuhax to coolboot into rxTools emuNAND when you turn on your 3DS.