Help booting GamCube games off USB Loader GX

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Conmore, Jun 27, 2012.

Jun 27, 2012
  1. Conmore
    OP

    Newcomer Conmore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    So I followed Cyan's instructions, and now the games display on USB Loader GX off the USB HDD, however, the games will go into a black screen, and forces me to reboot. When I do I get this error message:
    SORRY FOR THE HUGE PICTURE.

    [​IMG]

    So what should I do about that? Any help would be nice. Thanks!

    The games I'm trying to play are Skies of Arcadia, Super Smash Bros. Melee, and Animal Crossing. They have all booted fine off an SD Card with the same launcher.
     
  2. Frank Cadena

    Member Frank Cadena GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    Brunei
    What are you using? DiosMiosLite or DiosMios? If I'm not mistaken, one is used to load games off of the SD card while the other is used to load games off of the USB. One cannot be use for the other i.e DiosMiosLite cannot be used to load games off the USB and DiosMios cannot be used to load games off the SD card.
     
  3. Conmore
    OP

    Newcomer Conmore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    I realized I'm booting USB Loader wrong. But I still get the black screen of doom. After installing MIOS DIOS again, after I launch I get the MIOS DIOS logo, then it black screens. I left it for a minute, but still no luck. I finally figured it out. I needed to have a disc in the drive.
     
  4. Frank Cadena

    Member Frank Cadena GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    Brunei
    Cool. I'm glad that you had that problem sorted out.
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,407
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Use the correct USBLoader GX (r1193)

    It detects if you have DML (SD only) or DM (USB only) installed.
    Depending on your setting, it will display informations if your setting is incorrect or launch the game if all is fine.


    DIOS MIOS (USB only):
    Set your "Main GameCube Path" to USB FAT32 partition.
    Launch your games, if it's on USB it launch, if it's on SD it display a message telling you it needs to be on USB FAT32 partition.


    DIOS MIOS Lite (SD card only):
    Set your "Main GameCube Path" to USB or SD
    If the game is on USB, you see the "copy USB to SD" message, as only SD card is working with DIOS MIOS Lite.


    If the Laoder launch DM(L) but you have a black screen/green screen/error message/freeze/Wii switch off, here are the possibilities:

    1. your device is not compatible
    2. your FAT32 partition is not the first on your drive
    3. your FAT32 partition is not Primary and active
    4. your FAT32 partition don't have 32k cluster size
    5. You need to put a disc in the drive (always!)
    6. Remove your memory cards
    7. Your settings are wrong (Video mode, nmm, etc.)
    8. bad luck, try again, it will work eventually after few re-tries.
    9. try another loader
    10. try another DM(L) revision/version
    11. Ok, the game is not working, go to wiki compatibility list and add the entry.
    12. Try another game now.
     
  6. bm123456

    Member bm123456 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Houston
    Country:
    United States
    DM should work with rev1193 with disc in the drive or not , correct Cyan? or has that been changed. dm works now with or without a disc thru dm according to Crediar on the wiki
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,407
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    No, what Crediar said is that the "noDisc" setting is no more controlled by the loaders.

    It is STILL required, but it's not the loader which determine that setting anymore, it's the presence of the disc in the drive.

    So, the "noDisc" setting is controlled by putting a disc in the drive.
    To me it's like there's no more noDisc setting, just put a disc in the drive when a game require a disc in the drive, that's all ;)
     

Share This Page