HDD Spindown

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Disco-Tek, Feb 13, 2010.

Feb 13, 2010

HDD Spindown by Disco-Tek at 2:21 PM (1,544 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Disco-Tek
    OP

    Newcomer Disco-Tek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Hi !!

    I have a 1TB Western Digital GreenPower with as interface Packard Bell Carbon hooked up to my WII and using Wiiflow as USB loader, now when I play Smash brawl and such, at some point it just freezes, and I think it might be because of the spindown... Now, I don't know how to turn it off permantely...


    Thanks..
     
  2. wulfie

    Member wulfie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if your hdd supports it, but look into Smartware by western digital, it lets you set the spindown or even turn it off
     
  3. Disco-Tek
    OP

    Newcomer Disco-Tek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for replying.

    Yeah, but I can't find the download link, only "Software update" and "Firmware update" and it seems only to be for Essential and Passport.

    I downloaded a cool program called HDDscan, I turned off Acoustic Mode and disabled sleep mode in Power Management, but I can't seem to touch Advanced Power Management because it isn't supported or something...

    Anyway, wish me luck [​IMG]

    Ty
     
  4. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    smash bros game has had issues with freezing regardless of hard drive being used.

    What cios do you have installed? If your running waninkokos you should be using Rev17 and that was supposed to fix the issues with the game.

    If your already using Rev17 and its still freezing it could be your hard drive spinning down or it could be a bad dump of the game.

    You could try re ripping the game or use hermes cios 222 instead.

    I have a hard drive that i was using waninkokos cios with and every game would lock up and freeze within 2-3 minutes.I switched to cios 222 and now nothing locks up or freezes everything plays perfect.
     
  5. Disco-Tek
    OP

    Newcomer Disco-Tek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, I don't know, Kinda noob here, but I can tell you that I followed the 3.1 to 4.1 tutorial of Doggegs of wiihacks.. And I am using Hermes cios 222 specially for SSBB wich seems to have fixed the crashing of the second level... Also, I also have problems with Muramasa, after some time of playing when I go to another stage/level it turns black and well it just stays like that...

    EDIT: Anyway, I tried to turn off the power save mode, and shall see later if it's working, then I will post here what the results are.

    Thanks !
     
  6. Disco-Tek
    OP

    Newcomer Disco-Tek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I tried my wii again, and it freezed again when I tried to fight Giant bowser in stage 6 or 7 and my HDD didn't seem to spin down as I could see the standby sign still flashing...

    And I have r17 installed, used with Hermes Cios 222 and wiiflow..

    Any help?
     
  7. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Trying re ripping the game or re downloading it and try again.
     
  8. Disco-Tek
    OP

    Newcomer Disco-Tek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    hmm ok ty
     
  9. Disco-Tek
    OP

    Newcomer Disco-Tek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to block IOS reload and it everything seems to be working fine
     

Share This Page