HDD loader and very large HDD's

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kedest, Apr 3, 2009.

Apr 3, 2009
  1. kedest
    OP

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I want to buy a new external HDD for use with the loader. I saw a nice 1TB one. So that's a whole lot of storage space.
    So I was wondering, is there a maximum the loader can handle?
     
  2. SpongeFreak52

    Member SpongeFreak52 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    Country:
    United States
    Not that anyone knows of. Plenty of people have confirmed working 1 TB drives, so I can't imagine any bigger would cause problems.
     
  3. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I think it cuts off at 512GB but you can partition a 1TB to two 512GB partitions.
     
  4. kornychaos

    Member kornychaos Organized.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Can you load games from both partitions if you split it into two?
    (I've never used the USB loader, just a curiosity question)
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  6. Viro

    Newcomer Viro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    I can say from my experience so far with my 1TB, I can load ISOs from my PC to the HDD no problem, but dumping them to the HDD from the disc itself isn't working at the moment. I look forward to when the higher ones will be more compatible.
     
  7. warfab

    Newcomer warfab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Philippines
    A note left for Western Digital SATA Hard Drive (1TB) + USB2.0 to SATA Bridge Adapter on USB Devices Compatibility List - 1TB

    Hmmm... I wonder about that myself. Anyone tried making at least 2 WBFS on one HDD?
     
  8. kedest
    OP

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well that's some useful information, thanks. It's good to see that the windows application can handle it. And I'm sure the loader will be updated to support it too.
     
  9. wiiplayer2009

    Newcomer wiiplayer2009 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    While I have added a few games from the wii and 1 from my hd using wfsb I have a question.

    What would the better way be to add my iso backups? from the wii its self or using wfsb. I have noticed that when i added a few games from the wii its self the file sizes are really small, but when i added a game from wfsb it took the entire file size. and using the wii to do it on some games like Mario kart or super Mario galaxy it said the eta was over an hour. I don't want to burn out my wii so whats the best way to add the games and does it really matter for file sizes or will wfsb 2.2.2 shrink them for me as well somehow? I also have rawdump 2.1 on my pc as well to rip the game onto my pc with my lg drive.
     
  10. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    making the loader switch between partitions (why stop at 2?) would be easy.
    but someone needs to get kwiirk to verify the maximum partition size.

    just because you can write a value higher than 512 into the partition-table does not mean it will be written to.
    it may be that once you go over 512 the filesystem will wrap and start overwriting your original stuff at the start of the partition.

    that problem happened on the xbox. [​IMG]
     
  11. opium2k

    Newcomer opium2k Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i'm using a 1tb mybook
    i found that as long as my wbfs partition was 512gb or less i could write to it using the wii and a disc but if i partitioned it from my pc and made the wbfs a full 1tb i could only copy iso's to it from the computer and not directly from the loader using the wii
     
  12. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'd like someone with a terrabyte drive to put over 512gig of games on it,
    then test the first & last 5.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. BlindDude

    Member BlindDude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    United States
    if they were to do that, it would mean that they would have somewhere in the range of 300-400 games.. Know anyone with that amount of games?
     
  14. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    Just buy that 1T drive mate, you'll never gonna fill it anyway...
     

Share This Page