HD Output

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by crimsonnight, Jul 24, 2012.

Jul 24, 2012

HD Output by crimsonnight at 2:26 PM (542 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a device that supposedly converts the Wii's signal to HD... the colours seem to pop a little more but apart from that I haven't really noticed a difference (I just wanted to use an HD cable as I have an HD hub) - I was just wondering if it's possible for future homebrew to utilise this device in any way?
     
  2. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't think that'll happen since the Wii does not support HD in any kind or way. Even if you use an adapter it should make no/little difference. :(

    Wii only supports up to 480i and I believe 480p.

    Sorry you'll have to wait till Wiiu.
     
  3. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that'll take a while to get hacked though ;p
    just wondering if an app outputted in an HD format if the adaptor would pick up the signal and run with it - I don't really understand anything about this but I'd guess not, just thought I'd confirm :)
     
  4. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't understand much either, but the Wii does not support HD output in any kind :P but if the colors are better then your lucky! ;)

    And you never know, the Wiiu might be hacked on day one!
     
  5. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    it is not so much it "converts a wii's signal to hd", it converts an analoge signal to a digital one, hence the richer colours you are seeing. For improved picture it will only upscale the picture, for homebrew devs doing more with it, no chance as the Wii is still rendering the video
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the wii doesn't output HD, and there's no way to "convert" a raster signal to HD automatically.

    If you want anything Wii in HD, emulation's the current best bet.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. crimsonnight
    OP

    Member crimsonnight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    gotcha - cheers!
     

Share This Page