Hard drive not functioning correctly?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by RollingThunder, Nov 13, 2010.

Nov 13, 2010
  1. RollingThunder
    OP

    Newcomer RollingThunder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there everyone. I recently bought a new 1 TB Western Digital Elements hard drive to use for my USB Loader on my Wii. I have tried formatting it to WBFS to play my .iso Wii games, but I just can't format it... I double partitioned my hard drive so I could use it for both school and my Wii, if that helps with anything.

    If someone could please help me, I would GREATLY appreciate it. Thanks!
     
  2. Gabelvampir

    Member Gabelvampir Free Mars!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    K-Town
    Country:
    Germany
    It is recommended not to use wbfs-Partitions any more. Format the partition you want to use for backup (I think it must be the first one) as FAT32 and use wbfs_file (command-line tool) of WiiBackupManager to convert your .isos to .wbfs-Files. There are other tools that can do that, but that are the two I know (WiiBackupManager seems to call it simulated wbfs drives). That files need then be put in a folder with the name wbfs on the backup partiton of your HDD.
     
  3. RollingThunder
    OP

    Newcomer RollingThunder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I understood that a little bit, but not completely... Could you explain it more? I'm not really tech savvy at this kind of stuff...
     
  4. RollingThunder
    OP

    Newcomer RollingThunder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any other way that I can get my hard drive to FAT32? Because right now, it's on NTFS and there is no FAT32 option...
     
  5. RollingThunder
    OP

    Newcomer RollingThunder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I actually just got it to FAT32, so no more worries there. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page