Hard drive causing static rain on tv...

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by ridgecity, Jun 18, 2009.

Jun 18, 2009
  1. ridgecity
    OP

    Member ridgecity GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Mexico
    Anyone knows how to fix it or if it's cause by the new hardware? It's got a 2.5 80GB USB hd...
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Um, you mean you have a magnetic drive next to your (crt) tv and youre wondering why you're getting interference?

    I would move it away before both your TV and hard drive get fried.
     
  3. ridgecity
    OP

    Member ridgecity GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Mexico
    no, when I turn on the Wii, the hd starts working and you can see the tv noise, as if it there was interference, doesn't go away, only when the wii and usb are on.
     
  4. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    So yeah, move the hard drive farther from your TV.
     
  5. ridgecity
    OP

    Member ridgecity GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Mexico
    It looks more like an electric thing, and its a plasma. Do the Wii usb ports have enough juice to power a 2.5 hd?
     
  6. twig123

    Member twig123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    I get this issue as well... it appears some drive enclosures don't have filters on the line and cause 'static' or 'snow' effect on the TV. 1st... try a USB cable that has a line filter on it, or if the drive has an external power adapter try plugging it into an outlet that does NOT share the same power source as the TV.

    (I get the same effect if I plug a florescent light into the same power strip as my TV as well)
     
  7. FirenXe

    Newcomer FirenXe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Kowloon, Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I got this problem too before, but i fixed it by buying a more expensive enclosure.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. rustybanana

    Member rustybanana GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine only does that if I dont have anything plugged into the top usb port :/
     
  9. hamstarr

    Newcomer hamstarr Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    legoland whitehouse
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How about using an unearthed plug for the hdd? (the earth connection on european power plugs can easily be "taped" over to isolate, if you dont have an unearthed power socket)

    I believe the earth is leaking from the tv to the wii to the hdd, or the other way around, causing interference.
     
  10. rustybanana

    Member rustybanana GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sadly of no use to me as I am using a usb powered hdd. Its going to be more likely a case of electromagnetic interference [​IMG]
     
  11. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    The interferance is passing though your scart/RCA video input. I bet if you unplug your RCA video cable your tv is fine.
    Make sure your RCA/ Scart cables are not passing over the AC input for your drive or any electrical cabling. Try not to loop electrical cables , plug your Wii onto the same power outlets.
    I have a PEGA dock station with Multi video outputs for the Wii. I bought a high quality sheilded RCA cable and it solved my problem. It could also be your HD Enclose also, if its a cheap HD enclose this can will happen also. But if you bought a good WD Passport or something the drive should be ok.
     
  12. Krusty104

    Newcomer Krusty104 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    @FirenXe:

    Which "more expensive" enclosure did you buy?

    I have this one: http://ritmotech.com.au/satotech/product_i...0198cfbb3f341b1

    It was inexpensive, but I definitely get snow every time whenever I turn it on when plugged into the Wii. I've tried plugging it into other power points, used different power cables etc but it won't go away.

    It's a shame, because other than that it works really well. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page