ROM Hack Translation Hamtaro Nazo Nazo Q English Translation (problem with custom graphics)

jonko_

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi folks!

First time posting and I'm fairly new to rom hacking. I'm currently working on a translation of Hamtaro: Nazo Nazo Q which is (to my knowledge) one of the only Hamtaro games to never get an official English release. The first section of this post will be about the progress I've made so far and the second will detail the current challenges I'm facing.

Progress So Far
With the exception of the game icon and SDAT sound, this game seems to not use any standard DS files or conventions. Cracking open the file system, we can see this:
upload_2021-5-30_15-0-55.png

Even the things that CrystalTile2 is convinced are LZ22 archives are actually not. All of these DAT files begin with a series of pointers to items later in the file as can be seen here:

upload_2021-5-30_15-6-23.png

(That's sort of a lie -- some of the DAT files start with a pointer to the first pointer, which is always 0x08 in those files, followed by the total file length; however, they're otherwise identical.)

In some files, like MSysMsg.dat, these point to strings (encoded in a weird custom Japanese-modded ASCII) and simply encode text displayed in game (these will hereon be referred to as message files). In others, however, they're pointers to other files, essentially acting as a directory (hereon referred to as directory files). (A custom file system within the NDS file system...I don't know why anyone would do that.) I've written a quick & dirty utility to parse and edit both kinds of files (including the message files contained within the directory files). I'll include a couple of screenshots to demonstrate:

upload_2021-5-30_15-21-24.png
upload_2021-5-30_15-23-48.png
upload_2021-5-30_15-25-21.png