Hacking the Wii to work with Wii U Pro Controller: Progress Guide

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by aarzee, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. aarzee
    OP

    Newcomer aarzee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Park Slope, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Did we get it working on Wii yet?
    No.

    Note: This topic is present in 4 forums to raise awareness, and to make sure that anybody who can contribute information knows how.

    Since there's a lot of interest in getting this backwards-compatible through hacking, I figured I'd make a thread detailing what's known about it so far.

    For those who don't have one, it's basically a Classic Controller Pro without the wire and with the player LEDs from the Wiimote slapped on the bottom.

    The idea is that through modding the System Menu, we can use the WUPC as if it were a normal Wiimote with a Classic Controller Pro attached to it.

    The controller does connect via Bluetooth, and so the original Wii system already has the necessary hardware. We don't know the PIN yet.

    I'm not sure if it can pair via the USB charging cable, but if it does we can simply use that to pair.

    If you have any useful information that you think should be in this post, reply and I'll be sure to put it in.

    TL;DR if you have new info post it!

    Resources:
    WiiUBrew info on WUPC: http://wiiubrew.org/wiki/Wii_U_Pro_Controller
    Use WUPC with your PC: http://gbatemp.net/threads/wii-u-pro-controller-to-pc-program-release.343159/
     
  2. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    The first thing that comes to mind is that since IIRC it's actually the IOS's that run the Bluetooth radio it's probably something that would have to be added to a cIOS (or a more intrusive DarkCorp-style hack) for that to work correctly and would NOT need any changes done to the System Menu itself.

    It would probably involve adding a new BlueTooth module and patching it into a WAD and installing. If you're lucky and it actually uses the exact same protocol as a WiiMote+Classic Controller (Pro) combo then I'm sure it would be a simple patch. If it doesn't you would also have to add code to make the translation from one protocol to another.

    Seems like something that could work ... but that's all the theory I have to offer at this moment.
     
  3. aarzee
    OP

    Newcomer aarzee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Park Slope, New York
    Country:
    United States
    I was under the impression that the System Menu is the underlying architecture of the Wii OS, and so modifying it (through cIOS) would make the changes work on the entire system. But, I'm the farthest you can get from an expert on hacking.
     
  4. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    The system menu people usually use to refer to the part that's running on the Power PC processor when you see the menu in the start. At that time there's also an IOS running on the ARM processor that actually has access to the peripherals like USB, BlueTooth, etc.

    When you run a game (even a WiiWare, VC, or other channel) the system menu is closed completely to load in the game or channel and ANOTHER separate IOS is also loaded for that game to give it access to things it needs (like WiiMotes in this case)

    What you see when you push the home button while in a game is actually part of that game. Nintendo just gave all the developers an easy way to make a home menu so that they would all look pretty much the same.
     
  5. aarzee
    OP

    Newcomer aarzee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Park Slope, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I understand now. Thanks for that bit of info.
     
  6. B.alpha

    Newcomer B.alpha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Germany
    Wouldn't apply the same to libsickaxis!?

    http://gbatemp.net/threads/libsicksaxis-connect-sixaxis-ds3-to-the-wii.339191/
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/snes9x-gx-4-3-2-with-libsicksaxis.339612/
     
  7. snikerz

    Member snikerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    Liechtenstein
    Why do you start a thread like this if you have no idea about the Wii's firmware architecture? It's not like anyone would benefit from observing the "progress". If any known IOS hacker decides to work on this feature, it would be done in one afternoon, anyway.
     
  8. aarzee
    OP

    Newcomer aarzee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Park Slope, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Because a lot of people want this to happen, and I wanted to make sure they knew what was happening.
     
  9. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
  10. B.alpha

    Newcomer B.alpha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Germany
    It really is, unfortunately it doesn't get as much attention as it deserves :(
    It would be so convenient to use your PS3 Controller instead of the classic controller.
    I don't even want to mention how many controllers I have for one single console, its getting ridicules.
     
  11. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
  12. B.alpha

    Newcomer B.alpha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Germany
    I think it was just a matter of time before drivers for pc where gonna appear, but to be honest I think the much more
    difficult part would be to implement this drivers as classic controller emulation into the wii software. I sounds just tipping so complicated
    that I don't think that it might be happen
     
  13. LightyKD

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
  14. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
  15. aarzee
    OP

    Newcomer aarzee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Park Slope, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Shameless bumping.
     
  16. cualquiercosa327

    Newcomer cualquiercosa327 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello,i think this would be interesting .Read :

    The Wii U Pro Controller is pretty awesome but Nintendo decided to not making it compatible with the Wii. I don't know what the difference is technically between a Wiimote and a Wii U Pro Controller as both use Bluetooth to connect with the Wii/Wii U. Wouldn't it be possible to code some sort of drivers up to make the Pro Controller work on Wiis?

    It's possible but I think it would be a bit awkward to squeeze a patch in for... If someone else wanted to do it, they'd have to do this:
    - Identify the controller as a wiiu pro before the game attempts to read any data from the "wiimote". Either read and check the extension id (wiiu pro last byte == 0x20) or check the controller's bluetooth name (which is something like "Nintendo RVL-CNT-UC-01"). If an attempt to read data from the wiimote's memory is performed on a wiiu pro, it will disconnect (only the extension memory is available).
    - Use one of the "long" extension data reporting modes, like mode 0x34 - the wiiu pro needs to report more than 6 bytes to send all the data.
    - Process the "long" data reports to make the input data look like a classic controller. The four stick axes come first (four little-endian 16-bit words), reduce their precision to match the crappy classic controller (6 bits for left stick, 5 for right) followed by the buttons, which match the classic controller's button reports except for the addition of L3, R3 and the charging/fully charged flags which can all be ignored.

    #mce_temp_url#
     
  17. fdgfd

    Newcomer fdgfd Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    If we don't have the skills, perhaps we can sweeten the pot? I'll contribute 10 bucks. Two or three people more do the same and we could probably have a few hackers work on getting this done almost like a competition.
     
  18. bezem

    Member bezem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    If you're so willing to spend money to get a controller working, buy a classic controller. I think the best way for Wii U Pro Controller support is going to be custom firmware on the Wii U Pro controller itself. I've mentioned that in other threads, and I have no technical expertise to back it up, but it seems the most logical route.
     
  19. fdgfd

    Newcomer fdgfd Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    I hate the way the classic controller works for Brawl. I think the Wii U Pro controller would be fantastic bezem.

    I'd rather see the money go to someone that offers me the ability to use the control options I choose.
     
  20. bezem

    Member bezem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    Offering random strangers money isn't going to get you what you want. Learn to code the compatibility yourself, use a gamecube to classic controller adapter, or pick up a gigaware Gamecube controller that works like a classic controller. I'd love to see a third party accessory manufacturer make a dongle that plugs into the Wiimote and communicates with the Pro Controller as if it were a classic controller. I have no technical skills or know-how, and those who do have already made it pretty clear they don't care enough to do so. I've also seen plenty of posts erased by mods because they were offering bounties or paypal accounts to 'collect' money. But hey if you've got money to burn/lose....
     

Share This Page