Hacking Hack?

superj2998

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
1,221
Country
United States
  • PS3 FAT : ALL compatible ! don't ask or worry.
  • PS3 Slim : CECH-2xxxxxxx, it depends on the PS3 model (run a tool to check first! look on the next FAQ question)
  • PS3 Slim : CECH-3xxxxxxx NOT compatible
  • PS3 Super slim : CECH-4xxxxx NOT Compatible
It was right there where it said FAQ in the link that was provided for you
 
  • Like
Reactions: killmister2

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,696
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Imola
XP
6,937
Country
Italy
Why doesn't it work on CECH-30xxA?
While this new hack is not technically a downgrade, all consoles that can't be downgraded to 3.55 also have an updated version of "metldr" that doesn't have the basic exploit used by all CFWs

Some PS3 2000s (those made in 2010 or newer) are 3.56+, all 3000s and 4000s are too
 
  • Like
Reactions: samschaap

Onepunchbruh

Alhumdulillah
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
1,485
Trophies
0
XP
627
Country
Pakistan
So I'm getting a FAT version PS3 (for 30$), it's hard drive doesn't work (As I got told). Can I use external drive on it & how may I use external drive on it?
 

killmister2

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Messages
99
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
321
Country
Canada
So I'm getting a FAT version PS3 (for 30$), it's hard drive doesn't work (As I got told). Can I use external drive on it & how may I use external drive on it?
PS3 needs an internal HDD to work (to install the firmware, user profile, parameters, game installations and saves, etc.). Any SATA 2.5" will do the job just fine. Then, you can use another drive via USB (needs to be formatted in FAT32 or NTFS) to transfer/play games from it.

$30 for a PHAT PS3 with a broken HDD isn't really a deal. I suggest you go for a 120/250GB Slim model (CECH-20xx models), that can be bought for under $100.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,226
Country
United States
So I'm getting a FAT version PS3 (for 30$), it's hard drive doesn't work (As I got told). Can I use external drive on it & how may I use external drive on it?

you'll get an error if no hard drive is inserted or if there's a problem with it. it will take you to the xmb (sorta), then error. the reason 3 and 4K don't work is unknown keys. there's also an added security lv0.2 which doesn't effect earlier system. it seems to hash check lv0, but that key is unknown anyway. you won't be able to decrypt. in fact, PUAD will error during decryption. 3.56 is exploitable, but originally you needed a flasher to do so. user minVerChk to see what your system can downgrade to. that should also error, then tell you the lowest the system can downgrade to. metldr 1 is the reason the exploit works. that key is known due to a major fuck up by sony. metldr 2 is unknown since sony fixed the mess u.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,226
Country
United States
2TB is iffy. it may not work or it may tell you the wrong free space. 1TB or lower is recommended. I think this was done deliberately by sony.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,226
Country
United States
I'd recommend a slim. all phats can be exploited, but they're more prone to ylod. I wouldn't tempt it unless you already had one.
 

Chickenhunterx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
71
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
733
Country
Canada
2tb hdd won't work in the ps3 i think 1.5 is the limit. I don't know if it'll work after installing cfw but throwing one in there as is will only cause your ps3 to freeze
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,467
Trophies
3
XP
29,226
Country
United States
it doesn't matter if it's ofw or cfw. sony created a limit. it's ironic since the 360 is further paralyzed deliberately to pawn off overpriced hard drives. it not only can use a 2TB hdd, the memory slot can be soldered to allow another 2TBs. and, it can even use a 2TBs via an external. that last one is via ofw. you're really limited to 1TB with the ps3 if you don't want any problems.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: I love it +1