1. ` regret .

    ` regret . GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Canada

    (:. Thanks, but I knew that already. I was just wondering if a modded psp is all you need, or do you need a homebrew application to run the files?
     
  2. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    Nope. Sony very nicely have been including and updating a PS1 emulator in the firmware updates since 3.xx (I think) and Dark_alex hacked it to run any iso converted to ISO. If you're on 5.00M33 or 5.50Gen-D3 then just convert and put it in your game folder
     
  3. ` regret .

    ` regret . GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks a bunch (:. My memory stick just arrived in the mail today and I can finally play these PSX games without unhooking and rehooking over and over again.
     
  4. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    I will say however that it would be a good idea to get the popsloader plugin for whichever CFW you have (search for "popsloader complete pack" or something, all the prx files come from OFWs so I'm not sure whether its considered warez or not) as some games don't work too well on certain popsloader versions (in general all officially released games will run perfectly on the one in 5.50 GEN D3)
     
  5. Lily

    Lily One Scary Lady
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Country:
    Canada
    How about Final Fantasy 8? Doesn't it need one of the more recently released 6.x firmwares?
     
  6. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    Sorry, all older officially released PS1 games work on the CFW pops, there are newer ones which require 6.x OFW's Popsloader (which I think GEN are working on integrating in)
     
  7. xist

    xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,859
    Country:
    What makes you think that? Supposedly it's impossible to integrate 6.20 features on 5.50 and GEN don't appear to have ever mentioned that they're able to... Also from what i've seen on the GEN forums D3 is less compatible with PSX games than earlier GEN firmwares or M33 and so if you're interested in PSX games you're better off staying away from it.
     
  8. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    I've heard mention of attempts to integrate the 6.20 Pops into the current system but I can't remember where...
     
  9. ` regret .

    ` regret . GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Canada
    None of my games start. [​IMG]. 3 of them give me a black screen then after about 5 seconds it says "The game could not be started. (80000004) D: The other one just says "This game could not be started, data is corrupt", I'm not using any sort of program to run these, no emulators, homebrew or anything. I'm on 5.03 GEN-C (Full) on a PSP 3001.

    Update : I just formated my memory stick and tried again, now when I go to them it says "File Data Courrpt"
     
  10. Skyline969

    Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,209
    Country:
    Canada
    Think you can be a little more specific? What PSP do you have? What firmware does it have? What are your current settings?
     
  11. ` regret .

    ` regret . GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Canada

    I updated it right after you quoted, right before you posted. (: I don't know how to check the settings but the rest is in that post.

    I'm on 5.03 GEN-C (Full) on a PSP 3001.

    Can somebody link me to a popsloader that works for that? I have no idea how the different popsloaders work.


    Update : I just formated my memory stick and tried again, now when I go to them it says "File Data Courrpt"
     
  12. Skyline969

    Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,209
    Country:
    Canada
    If you rebooted, you need to re-apply MHUSpeed/ChickHEN and go back into GEN-C, as it clears when you turn off your PSP. Just making sure you know that.
     
  13. ` regret .

    ` regret . GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Canada

    Yup, I know, I'm solving the problem with the OP via PM, lets stop spamming this awesome thread now. (:
     
  14. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    Hey, I'm pretty stumped by your problem if you're ripping ISOs right
     
  15. ` regret .

    ` regret . GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll take pictures of me re-doing it, that way if anythings wrong somebody can inform me . [​IMG].
     
  16. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    Update time!!!

    I have found another database of Pops Icons HERE It is a relatively new site and many of the icons and pics offered are lacklustre but it gives a lot more choice than Pixelstation, anybody with images to add please do to aid this new database!

    Added to the original guide post too but thought people not looking for the guide would like to have this brought to their attention
     
  17. Yanazake

    Yanazake GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Brazil
    I can finally convert my psx games correctly, even multi disc games. It's still kinda hard to find good pics, tho.

    What I want to ask is about compatibility:
    I heard that Digimon World 3 has some bugs after advancing a lot in the game. How can I know this won't happen?

    [I looked got a compatibility list, but it doesn't explain much about this.]
     
  18. Jamstruth

    OP Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,462
    Country:
    Change the Game ID to SLPS01724, I think, there may still be occassional freezing.
     
  19. Meowayne

    Meowayne GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    edit: nvm
     
  20. xist

    xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,859
    Country:
    Meowayne - yes you can (couldn't reply earlier as i wasn't logged in) - you need CWCheat and the manage memory card option.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Converting, Guide, games