Get started with DSx86

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials' started by dicamarques, Jul 11, 2011.

Jul 11, 2011

Get started with DSx86 by dicamarques at 12:30 PM (22,048 Views / 2 Likes) 40 replies

  1. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    My first tutorial [​IMG]

    Version of DSx86 at the moment: 0.36

    So you love DOS and DOS games, but you dont have access to a computer at all the time, but you have a DS. This DS is the solution of your life.


    What you need


    • A flashcard or sudoku hax (I think is not supported atm)
    • A DS/i (if you have a DSi or 3DS you can use iEvo flashcard so you can access the extra RAM and CPU)
    • A PC
    • and finnaly the files http://dsx86.patrickaalto.com/DSdown.html


    So let's start?




    First download the following files from: http://dsx86.patrickaalto.com/DSdown.html
    Second create a folder (if you dont have it already) on the root of your SD card named "DATA", inside create another folder called "DSX86",
    Inside that folder copy the 4dos.com and the dsx86.ini, now copy the dsx86.nds file to somewhere into you SD card.

    Third place your SD into your flashcard again.


    The test run!!!




    So boot the dsx86.nds in your flashcard and you should get something like this:

    [​IMG]


    Great a command line!!! Now what?




    Now you can download some dos games (see here http://dsx86compatib....atibility-List

    Or you can install windows 3.0a, witch is better than type to get to a folder

    So let's install windows in your DS


    OHHH Windows on my DS...




    What you need:
    windows 3.0a iso (link in the compatibility list http://dsx86compatibility.pbworks.com/w/pa...atibility-List

    Installing:
    • extract the iso using winrar or winzip or 7zip or whatever,
    • Copy the extracted files to a folder and name it for example "win3" and then copy it to the "ROOT" of your SD card.
    • boot in to "dsx86.nds" and type cd win3 'enter'
    • type setup.exe 'enter'
    • now you should get this:

      [​IMG]
    • press enter, press enter (or change the folder name and press enter),
    • now you may get an error like this:

      [​IMG]
      just press the B button until you see the keyboard again,
    • press the A button and wait till something appears in the top screen,
    • uncheck all the boxes (press mouse in the touch screen until it shows D-Pad [​IMG], move the mouse with the D-pad and uncheck the boxes (A button = left mouse click)) and press enter.
    • wait for the setup to finish....

      [​IMG]
    • at the end you may get a win asking for something about config.sys just press enter, and enter,
    • you get another error, press B button twice,
    • and you get another window, center the screen by pressing the 0 between the arrows and with the mouse press restart windows

      [​IMG]
    • Congratulations you have windows 3.00a on your Nintendo DS, now everytime you want to boot to windows just type "win" and press 'enter'

    Thanks for reading and I hope it helped you [​IMG]

    Edit: fixed something that would lead to mistakes.
    Edit2: Changed the link of 4Dos
    Edit3: changed the link of 4Dos AGAIN ...
     
    PROTOBOY and dacore270 like this.


  2. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    windows on the DS? a dream come true [​IMG]
    shame Windows 3.1/3.11 doesn't ... its the version I used to run back in the day, I'm familiar with it
    thanks for the tutorial [​IMG] will try this out sometime
     
    Games&Stuff and Ammako like this.
  3. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thanks, dont forget to rate

    Btw does anyone knows how to fix the mouse ?
     
  4. shyam513

    Member shyam513 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, windows on a DS, it's a laptop and a gams console in one! Great tutorial.
     
  5. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
  6. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    EDIT: works now lol
    EDITEDIT:nice toturial it helped me really great thanks
     
  7. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    heyy how come when i write setup.exe nothing appears?
     
  8. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Have you placed the folder "win3" in the root of your sd card?
     
  9. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah of couse
    1 thing only the iso comes with the download not the setup.exe
     
  10. hkz8000

    Member hkz8000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    any recommended DOS games that work with this?
     
  11. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
  12. nasenhund

    Newcomer nasenhund Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks alot.

    I always thought this would be very complicated.
    Ill try this out when kids are in bed [​IMG]
     
  13. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    hello? i still need help
    edit its fixed
     
  14. hkz8000

    Member hkz8000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how exactly do you run DOS games through Windows 3?
     
  15. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Atm its kind a harder because the mouse is very buggy so i suggest using the command line.
     
  16. hkz8000

    Member hkz8000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i meant which exe file to run because there quite a few
     
  17. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Depends on the game, usually the files in the zip package comes with an installer, which gives you the actual game files. Usually it's the game's name or an acronym. In some cases it is a *.com file, which works nearly the same as .exe files. If you still don't know what to run, there's usually a readme file included as well.
     
  18. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    ya it depends, try running some of them.
     
  19. hkz8000

    Member hkz8000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i ran all the files they give the error 'unsupported port I/0'. the readme says to just type 'sam'(the game in question here is sam and max hit the road) but that also didn't work. any help?
     
  20. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sam and Max works in scummvmds. Try using that, it'll work much better and probably a lot faster.
     

Share This Page