Hacking GeeXboX loading problem

Luriden

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've never used GeeXboX before, this is my first time trying it and it's giving me problems.

The alpha 4 zip file comes with two folders: apps and GeeXboX. I of course put the GeeXboX folder in the root of the SD and the folder that was in apps in apps. I load it up on the Wii, the GeeXboX menu comes up, and when the loading bar is at about 80% the Wii freezes, forcing me to unplug it. Anyone else had this problem and have a possible remedy?

Or better yet, is it worth the trouble? My friend has my Xbox 360 so I'm looking for a better way to stream TV episodes and such from my computer. Do the video files skip or anything?

Patryc

Trophies
XP
Country
Disabling wiiconnect24 makes no difference on my Wii. Nor does removing usb device. Alpha 3 works very well but alpha 4 always gets stuck at around 75%. Many Wii users have had this problem with alpha 4.

Luriden

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Screemer said:
disable wiiconnect24.

I disabled WiiConnect24, restarted the Wii, tried GeeXboX again and it's still freezing at the same spot. I guess that wasn't it.

I'm using 3.3 firmware, does that make any difference?

jservs7

Witcher of Whores
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Screemer said:
disable wiiconnect24.
Sorry, but if we have to disable things unlike the previous builds, then this looks like its just taking a step backward. I get the same freeze problem and I'll just stick to MPlayer.

Luriden

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I just tried alpha 3 and it works. I can't figure out how to access the files I have on my computer on this network, so it might not be for me.

Can Mplayer do this? I was under the impression that Mplayer was only for DVDs...

ashee

Trophies
XP
Country
Dominican Republic
Luriden said:
I've never used GeeXboX before, this is my first time trying it and it's giving me problems.