GBC games?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Mohammad, Aug 20, 2008.

Aug 20, 2008

GBC games? by Mohammad at 1:54 PM (3,624 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Mohammad
    OP

    Member Mohammad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    Can I use my Supercard SD to play Gameboy Color games? If so I think I'm going to trade-in my GBA SP and get a DS lite! yippe brighter screen! no more ds phat! [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Kijof

    Newcomer Kijof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yep, there's is gbc emulators for DS like lameboy.
     
  3. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    Kijof is right in the fact that you can play GBC games but only through emulators but if you meant your GBC cartridge, then no since they don't fit.
     
  4. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Youu don't need an external emulator. SC SD has built in emulators for PCE , NES , SGG , SMS , & GBC.Some are out dated but the GBC emu was updated to a more recent version of Goomba color. All you have to do is slap the roms on your SD card and they'll show up in the menu. Play [​IMG]
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can. You can either use the outdated build of Goomba Color that's built into the Supercard, or you can create your own compilation with the latest version of Goomba Color, creating a *.gba file that contains several GBC files at once.

    Or, if you get a slot-1 NoPass as well to boot the Supercard into DS mode, you can use Lameboy as well.

    EDIT: 754boy, I thought the built-in version was still Alpha 6, which is ancient at this point. Was it updated in the 1.85 firmware or something? I'm still on 1.84 I believe.
     
  6. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Too be honest I don't know the exact version. All I know is that I've been playing Zelda Oracles and they worked just fine [​IMG]
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    If the border around the GBC screen constantly changes color rather than staying black, then it's Alpha 6. If it works then keep using it, but for games that don't run at full speed with Alpha 6 it's definitely worth giving the latest versions a try.
     
  8. Mohammad
    OP

    Member Mohammad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    Just bought the new pokemon edition [​IMG] [​IMG] for $20 because I took in my DS games (9) and my GBA SP, now I have to spend $40 for a flash card + mem (Supercard DS ONE + Kingston 2gb) [​IMG]
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The "Supercard SD" and "Supercard DS:ONE" are entirely separate devices. The Supercard SD is a slot-2 device that has built-in GBC emulation via Goomba Color. The SCDS is a slot-1 device that contains no built-in emulators. It won't make too much of a difference though, as Lameboy is a very good GBC emulator you can run on your SCDS. You just won't be able to use Goomba Color if you ever felt the urge to do so.
     
  10. Mohammad
    OP

    Member Mohammad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    I would probably have both with me, as I like having the extra ram [​IMG] Although I guess for ROMs it isn't needed :/ would that speed up the loading times or not?
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Having extra RAM won't do anything for you in either Goomba Color or Lameboy to the best of my knowledge.
     
  12. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Could someone help me with this problem?

    I have a Supercard DS ONE with Lameboy 0.9 in it and I was playing Pokemon: Trading Card Game.
    I saved when I had 3 medals and I kept playing until I had 7 metals and I saved again. I shut off my DS after I saved.
    Later on, I loaded Lameboy and loaded Pokemon TCG, but the save file was the save with 3 medals! This has happened several times now. Can someone explain if this can be fixed or if it's just the emulator?

    -Yes, I'm sure I saved.

    Thanks in advance
     
  13. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    You could always try to use the latest version, Lameboy 0.11 [​IMG]
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You forgot to press X after saving in-game. Lameboy only updates the *.sav file on your card with the updated save data if you press X, or L+R which returns to the rom list and also updates the save file.

    If you just save in-game and turn off the DS, your progress will be lost.
     
  15. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    keep your gba sp for older gameboy games as the ds dosn't play it. hell i still have my old gameboy colour still, if you want brighter screens get a backlit version of the gba sp if you are from america, don't get a micro as it can't play old gameboy games.

    if you can't afford to keep your gba sp get the ds lite and run lameboy on it, but i would also consider getting a psp slim and use the masterboy emu, the psp slim has a awesome widescreen for old gameboy games.
     

Share This Page