1. Wuggl3z

    OP Wuggl3z Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    is there a GBC emulator for the DS that will work with super card SD/Super key/unflashed DS

    since supercard doesnt work with GBC roms (if it did i would just play them using my old GBA)
     
  2. Takeshi

    Takeshi GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    You can try GoombaColor!

    Info at -> PHWiki

    edit: Though it's originally for GBA it should work.
     
  3. shaunj66

    shaunj66 GBAtemp Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    10,956
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I second Goomba Colour. I'm playing through the Zelda Oracle of Seasons with it right now and it plays just great! [​IMG]

    I put it on my EFA Linker and am playing on my GBA SP2.

    I hate playing games that only use a single screen on the DS, especially a GB emulator that uses only 1/3 of the available screen space. [​IMG]
     
  4. Wuggl3z

    OP Wuggl3z Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    goomba coulour doesnt work for many games, including cannon fodder which is the game i want to play the most
     
  5. outphase

    outphase Custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    There was one named "DS_GBC" but it was slow, no sound and wasn't very compatible with anything. This question comes up too much and it goes like this:

    "Is there a solution for X?"
    -"Yes, there is only one."
    "Well, it doesn't work with this particular case of X, is there another one even though you said only one?"
     
  6. Wuggl3z

    OP Wuggl3z Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    curses, why didnt nintendo make the DS fully backward compatable and why didnt the super card team make the super card SD GBC compatable
     
  7. larvi

    larvi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    Supercard can play .gb and .gbc files natively:

    http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/Supercard

    However I believe it is just using goomba to do this, so if you can't run it under goomba chances are it won't work with the built in SC emulation

    Edit. Just noticed that you have a GBA. Just drag and drop the .gbc file to the SD card (don't use the SC Manager) and boot it up the SC in your GBA and you should be good to go.
     
  8. renejr902

    renejr902 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Canada
    do you really can play gb and gbc games like the real hardware with a supercard ?
    can you do it with a m3 card too ?
     
  9. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    Country:
    Italy
    You can never boot GB or GBC games on a GBA flashcart.
    Even though the GBA is backward compatible, the cartridge are not.
    GB/GBC cartridge run at a different voltage, and when inserted in a GBA they trigger the different hardware mode to run those games.
    I have a Flash2Advance pro, but the Sram is brocken, therefore I can't use it with regular GBA games that need to save to the battery.
    Therefore I bought a GB Bridge, which is a sort of U-shaped converter that you can connect your flashcart to and slide it into the GBA, changing the voltage of the cart making it boot in GB mode.
    I put all my GBC games on it(included Cannon Fodder) and they all work flowlessy as on teh real hardware.
    However they never looked so good in the past, now that I have a backlite GBA SP.
    Most GBC games don't even use a battery to save, they give you passwords, so I'm fine.
    The GB bridge I believeonly works with F2A and the old vision-something card that are no longer in the market.
    But if you could get this kind of equipment than you won't have to pray for an emulator anymore, but you will get the real thing!
    Another cheap solution would be to buy real used GBC games, there were quite a few good ones, but not that many after all, and they must be really cheap these days, plus they look magnificent on the SP2 !
     
  10. skarthebloodchild

    skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Country:
    Greece
    Put the gbc or gb files in supercard with a new firmware (built-in goomba emulator included) and have fun...
     
  11. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    Country:
    Italy
    It's not gonna be the same as on the "real hardware" you know...you'll still be using an emulator with all its advandages and disadvantages.
     
  12. Takeshi

    Takeshi GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    @ARM73: May I ask where you've bought your GB Bridge? Or was it long ago?
     
  13. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    Country:
    Italy
    I got it at divineo.cn.
    I just checked at it seems to be still in stock.
    HERE

    [​IMG]
    Be aware it only works with F2A.
     
  14. Takeshi

    Takeshi GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks. I still have my old 256Mb F2A (and my F2A Ultra but it also won't work with this, or does it).
     
  15. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    Country:
    Italy
    I think F2A Ultra was also reported to work with this bridge somehow.
     
  16. larvi

    larvi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
  17. Devante

    Devante Crescent fresh at best.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Country:
    United States
    Just to remind you, GB-Bridge doesn't fit in the DS.
    (since GBC doesn't fit in there either due to the shape of the cartridges)

    I bought a GB-Bridge with my Visoly Flash Advance 256M card (for $150!!) oh so long ago. I got them from lik-sang.

    I only used the GB-Bridge once for Zelda. Mixing GBA+GBÂ games on there is a little confusing, especially when trying to handle saves.

    There was some .GIF that someone made a long time ago visually explaining how the GB-Bridge handles GBC saves. I'll try to find it.
    I believe it's something like: the GB-Bridge uses the last (4th) slot on your card for GB/C saves. Not only that, but it divides the last slot into I believe 8 sections; one for each game. Or something along those lines.
     
  18. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    Country:
    Italy
    The only problem I have with this set-up, is that I can't modify the palette of GB games the way I used to do it with a GBC(by pressing a combination of d-pad and buttons to get a different palette at the start up logo).
    In fact I am stuck with only one ugly palette.But that does not matter because Goomba is more than capable of nearly perfect GB emulation, and it's even possible to change the palette at any time.
    It's the GBC games that are best played with the bridge, to get 100% compatibility as they run on real hardware, not an emulator.
    I also found some time ago an hacked GB loader for the F2A that used to give a large amount of pre-defined palettes to use with any GB mono games, but that wasn't really user friendly.
    Any other option to get more colors out of it ?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator,