Homebrew GBC emulator?

Wuggl3z

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
73
Trophies
0
XP
136
Country
is there a GBC emulator for the DS that will work with super card SD/Super key/unflashed DS

since supercard doesnt work with GBC roms (if it did i would just play them using my old GBA)
 

shaunj66

GBAtemp Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
11,421
Trophies
2
Age
37
Location
South England
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
15,858
Country
United Kingdom
You can try GoombaColor!

Info at -> PHWiki

edit: Though it's originally for GBA it should work.
I second Goomba Colour. I'm playing through the Zelda Oracle of Seasons with it right now and it plays just great!
biggrin.gif


I put it on my EFA Linker and am playing on my GBA SP2.

I hate playing games that only use a single screen on the DS, especially a GB emulator that uses only 1/3 of the available screen space.
tongue.gif
 

Wuggl3z

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
73
Trophies
0
XP
136
Country
goomba coulour doesnt work for many games, including cannon fodder which is the game i want to play the most
 

outphase

Custom title
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
1,217
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
176
Country
United States
goomba coulour doesnt work for many games, including cannon fodder which is the game i want to play the most

There was one named "DS_GBC" but it was slow, no sound and wasn't very compatible with anything. This question comes up too much and it goes like this:

"Is there a solution for X?"
-"Yes, there is only one."
"Well, it doesn't work with this particular case of X, is there another one even though you said only one?"
 

Wuggl3z

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
73
Trophies
0
XP
136
Country
curses, why didnt nintendo make the DS fully backward compatable and why didnt the super card team make the super card SD GBC compatable
 

larvi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Messages
233
Trophies
0
XP
99
Country
United States
Supercard can play .gb and .gbc files natively:

http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/Supercard

However I believe it is just using goomba to do this, so if you can't run it under goomba chances are it won't work with the built in SC emulation

Edit. Just noticed that you have a GBA. Just drag and drop the .gbc file to the SD card (don't use the SC Manager) and boot it up the SC in your GBA and you should be good to go.
 

Arm73

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
2,046
Trophies
0
Location
Switzerland
XP
587
Country
Italy
You can never boot GB or GBC games on a GBA flashcart.
Even though the GBA is backward compatible, the cartridge are not.
GB/GBC cartridge run at a different voltage, and when inserted in a GBA they trigger the different hardware mode to run those games.
I have a Flash2Advance pro, but the Sram is brocken, therefore I can't use it with regular GBA games that need to save to the battery.
Therefore I bought a GB Bridge, which is a sort of U-shaped converter that you can connect your flashcart to and slide it into the GBA, changing the voltage of the cart making it boot in GB mode.
I put all my GBC games on it(included Cannon Fodder) and they all work flowlessy as on teh real hardware.
However they never looked so good in the past, now that I have a backlite GBA SP.
Most GBC games don't even use a battery to save, they give you passwords, so I'm fine.
The GB bridge I believeonly works with F2A and the old vision-something card that are no longer in the market.
But if you could get this kind of equipment than you won't have to pray for an emulator anymore, but you will get the real thing!
Another cheap solution would be to buy real used GBC games, there were quite a few good ones, but not that many after all, and they must be really cheap these days, plus they look magnificent on the SP2 !
 

Arm73

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
2,046
Trophies
0
Location
Switzerland
XP
587
Country
Italy
QUOTE said:
QUOTE said:
do you really can play gb and gbc games like the real hardware with a supercard ?
can you do it with a m3 card too ?
Put the gbc or gb files in supercard with a new firmware (built-in goomba emulator included) and have fun...

It's not gonna be the same as on the "real hardware" you know...you'll still be using an emulator with all its advandages and disadvantages.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Thanks. I still have my old 256Mb F2A (and my F2A Ultra but it also won't work with this, or does it).
 

Devante

Crescent fresh at best.
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2002
Messages
1,221
Trophies
0
XP
724
Country
United States
Just to remind you, GB-Bridge doesn't fit in the DS.
(since GBC doesn't fit in there either due to the shape of the cartridges)

I bought a GB-Bridge with my Visoly Flash Advance 256M card (for $150!!) oh so long ago. I got them from lik-sang.

I only used the GB-Bridge once for Zelda. Mixing GBA+GBÂ games on there is a little confusing, especially when trying to handle saves.

There was some .GIF that someone made a long time ago visually explaining how the GB-Bridge handles GBC saves. I'll try to find it.
I believe it's something like: the GB-Bridge uses the last (4th) slot on your card for GB/C saves. Not only that, but it divides the last slot into I believe 8 sections; one for each game. Or something along those lines.
 

Arm73

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
2,046
Trophies
0
Location
Switzerland
XP
587
Country
Italy
The only problem I have with this set-up, is that I can't modify the palette of GB games the way I used to do it with a GBC(by pressing a combination of d-pad and buttons to get a different palette at the start up logo).
In fact I am stuck with only one ugly palette.But that does not matter because Goomba is more than capable of nearly perfect GB emulation, and it's even possible to change the palette at any time.
It's the GBC games that are best played with the bridge, to get 100% compatibility as they run on real hardware, not an emulator.
I also found some time ago an hacked GB loader for the F2A that used to give a large amount of pre-defined palettes to use with any GB mono games, but that wasn't really user friendly.
Any other option to get more colors out of it ?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: My fetish is getting fired lol