GBA Emulator for DS? With extension pack?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Jakob95, Apr 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Apr 14, 2009
  1. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Ok guys I know that its inpossible to emulate a Gba with a Slot 1 card. I know it won't work cause of the Ram of the DS. I know that GBA games have there own Ram built in them selves that is more than 4mb of ram. But what if we use the Memory Expansion pack (official one not EZ-flash) can we use that one? Since the Expension pack gives the DS 8Mb of ram more maybe it can play some GBA games.

    Or can you use the Nintendo Memory Expansion pack the one that comes with the DS browser as a Ez-Flash 3-in-1? Like can you make GBA Explorer work on it?
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately this is not possible. In theory it would be able to work just like the 3in1 in that regard, but the design of the Opera RAM pack prevents this from being possible. In short, the portion of the RAM that you can write to begins at memory location 0x9000000, while the GBA itself begins execution at 0x8000000 as soon as it boots up. Thus, there's no way to store the GBA rom in the location it expects to launch the game from.
     
  3. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a hack or something to make it run on the memory location 0x9000000? Or is there any program that let you use the Gba games from 0x90000000?
     
  4. anandjones

    Member anandjones GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
  5. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    So whats the point of having the Expansion pack? Is there another point of it instead of just the Browser? Can it be used for some homebrews? If it can what homebrews?
     
  6. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Theres a few that use the extra RAM, but not many as far as Im aware. Theres a build of QuakeDS which does and you do see an increase in performance due to it. http://quake.drunkencoders.com/exram.html
     
  7. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quake 2 DS is the only use I've seen for it.

    People should just get the GBA expansion cards instead..
     
  8. chazam1337

    Member chazam1337 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    I think GBAtemp would have a large topic on this if there was a way without a slot 2, because i think alot of people have the ram expansions.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Some homebrew can use the Opera RAM pack, including SNEmulDS, DSLinux, Quake I DS (not Quake II DS since that requires 12 MB and the Opera pack only has 8), and a couple others I'm probably forgetting. But there is no way to make it run GBA games.
     
  10. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any more Homebrews?
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Moonshell can use it for decoding large JPEGs I believe. ANS-PDF might use it in the future for PDF decoding, but not at the moment.
     
  12. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Why can't you use regular gba games for a expansion pack? Like pokemon emerald.
     
  13. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Because those are ROMs (ROM = Read Only Memory).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page