gba emulation on dsi

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by happybobjr, Aug 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Aug 15, 2009

gba emulation on dsi by happybobjr at 10:58 PM (1,696 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. happybobjr
    OP

    Newcomer happybobjr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    home
    Country:
    United States
    how come gba games can be played on the psp when noone has been able to make an emulator for the dsi
     
  2. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Edit: Because the PSP is easier to hack than the DSi.
     
  3. happybobjr
    OP

    Newcomer happybobjr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    home
    Country:
    United States
    doent matter the dsi has enough ram to run a game
     
  4. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    u jus cant play gba games on dsi yet
    although nintendo has said their gonna make VC of gba games for the dsi

    and maybe after that we can figure out a way to play gba roms through flash carts
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Well maybe it's possible hardware-wise, but the DSi is proving to be extremely tough to crack.
    No flash cart as of now has successfully hacked DSi mode, and until that happens, there's no point in hoping for a DSi GBA emulator.

    For more information, see Narin's post in this topic: http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=123221
     
  6. happybobjr
    OP

    Newcomer happybobjr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    home
    Country:
    United States
  7. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ..................
    Please search a bit before asking mind-numbingly stupid questions like this.
     
  8. happybobjr
    OP

    Newcomer happybobjr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    home
    Country:
    United States
    its not stupid its logic
    [​IMG] can be done
    so their might be a way with ram only [​IMG]
     
  9. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    That may very well be so, but there isn't even a good way to hack the DSi yet. Therefore, it's impossible, as of right now. It'd be pretty easy to find info on it if there was an easy way to hack it and run more than 5-6KB of code.
     
  10. happybobjr
    OP

    Newcomer happybobjr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    home
    Country:
    United States
    why don't people use the code i created?
     
  11. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ...what "code," may I ask, is that?
     
  12. happybobjr
    OP

    Newcomer happybobjr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    home
    Country:
    United States
    google it its called dsispeedup5.2
     
  13. Son of Science

    Member Son of Science GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Sand Iego
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you made that [​IMG]
     
  14. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Link or source for that bit of information, becuase as far as I know they havent said a thing about gameboy/gbc/gba VC.
     
  15. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're also forgetting that the PSP is a fuckload more powerful than the DS and DSi.
     
  16. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly. Saying "it's possible on X so why can't Y do it" is NOT logic. It's asking for something unreasonable.

    And we still haven't cracked DSi mode yet, so we're still limited to exactly what the DS could do. Not that it makes a difference, since the DSi still isn't powerful enough to emulate the GBA in software at any reasonable speed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page