GBA emulation on DS

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by Rocker2505, Feb 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Feb 19, 2008

GBA emulation on DS by Rocker2505 at 7:55 PM (4,848 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Rocker2505
    OP

    Newcomer Rocker2505 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive looked around for a couple of days now and tried a few but still cannot find a gba emulator for ds that saves
    does any one know of one
    help would be greatly apriciated
     
  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    I'm bringing back the saying "FFS" - just for you.


    FFS!
     
  3. Rocker2505
    OP

    Newcomer Rocker2505 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    may i ask why
     
  4. Brouhaha

    Member Brouhaha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Oz
    Country:
    Canada
    Mind giving a link to the ones you've tried but don't save? [​IMG]
     
  5. monaug5

    Member monaug5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that saves? does this imply that you have found one?
     
  6. Rocker2505
    OP

    Newcomer Rocker2505 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Rocker2505
    OP

    Newcomer Rocker2505 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im trying to say that the emulators i have tried do not keep saved games once the ds is turned off
     
  8. Brouhaha

    Member Brouhaha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Oz
    Country:
    Canada
    thats gameboy, not gameboy advance... I hope you just saved yourself a few flames by posting the links...
     
  9. Rocker2505
    OP

    Newcomer Rocker2505 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well the game i was trying to play was a game boy one so i didnt notice difference sorry
     
  10. Awdofgum

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    lameboy saves, try getting the latest version
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Lameboy does save, but if you read the documentation, you'll find that after saving in-game you have to press X to send the updated save info to the *.sav file on your card. If you don't do this, you'll lose your progress. Pressing L+R to go back to the rom selection menu also automatically does this for you.

    Judging by the date of that MaxConsole link, I'd say that's the old version of DSboy, not the newer one with palette support. IMO you'd be best off ignoring both, but I know that the one you're trying to use has no saving support whatsoever. Just use Lameboy instead.
     
  12. Roxx77

    Newcomer Roxx77 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    the M3-REAL saves GBA games fine.
     
  13. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for reading the entire topic before bumping a month-old thread that was already resolved.
     
  14. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    your welcome
     
  15. whatever_desu

    Newcomer whatever_desu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    The interwebz, duh.
    Country:
    United States
    I use an R4 and an EZFlash3-in-1. If you use the GBA ExpLoader on your R4's SD card it works fine with the EZFlash3-in-1 and will save if you do it right. After you're done playing a GBA game turn off your DS and turn it back on. Then go to the GBA ExpLoader again and it will ask you if you want to write to your SD card. Do so and your save you created while you were playing is now on the R4's SD card. Sadly you have to do this every time you are done playing a GBA game. If you don't then the save file will stay on the EZFlash3-in-1's RAM which wipes itself about an hour after the DS is turned off. So you must save it o the R4's SD card every time. On the other hand, it means that your save files are incredibly secure AND you can easily back them up on your computer.
     
  16. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada
  17. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
  18. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Lazy bums can't waste 20 bucks on the secondary cart if you spent at least 40 on the first?

    I mean if you're underage and can't get it yourself, just fill out surveys on some site like prizerebel and get it for free (Or work for it rather than pay rly)
     
  19. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I will quote myself here:

    Lazy bums can't waste 20 seconds reading the whole topic if you spent at least 10 opening the topic in the first place?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page