GBA Backup Tool compatibility?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Xastabus, Dec 27, 2010.

Dec 27, 2010
  1. Xastabus
    OP

    Newcomer Xastabus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. Occasional lurker, first time poster here.

    Here's my situation; I have an M3 DS Real and an original DS(phat). I want to be able to backup and play my old GBA games but support for the M3 cards was removed from the GBA Backup Tool v0.2 and I need another brand of flash card in order to get my saves.

    Here is my dilemma, with so many new cards released since Rudolph stopped developing NDS tools, are any newer cards compatible with GBA Backup Tool 0.21?

    Specifically, I'm thinking about getting an R4i SDHC just in case I decide to pickup a DSi in the future. Is the R4i SDHC compatible with GBA Backup Tool 0.21?
    (I realize DSi cannot play GBA backups, I would keep my old DS for that.)

    Thanks,
    Xastabus
     
  2. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The 3in1 is the "newest" slot 2 card. It's probably the last one since the focus of Nintendo is the DSi variants and the 3DS. You've been out of the loop on GBA backup software since it's now at 0.58. Hit up Filetemp and I think someone hacked Rudolph's program to run with M3.\

    Edit: my bad. I was thinking about GBA ExpLoader. Try this link http://filetrip.net/file.php?id=4135

    Edit 2: check out my stolen links in my sig for more info
     
  3. Xastabus
    OP

    Newcomer Xastabus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, Masked Ranger. I had read about the (GBA Backup Tool 0.21 patch). If other people have used it without problems then I would gladly use it instead of purchasing another Slot1 flashcard.

    I also did some more google searches and discovered this thread http://gbatemp.net/t101926-homebrew-to-wri...sh2advance-cart

    I happen to have a FlashAdvance or Flash2Advance card that may work with this software. I will have to try it later when I get home (if I can find my old GBA flash card). I will update here with my results.

    Project Homepage: http://code.google.com/p/fas1/
     
  4. Xastabus
    OP

    Newcomer Xastabus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I've got good news, so/so news, and bad news.

    Good: The patched GBA Backup Tool 0.21 works great. Though I had to figure out how to apply the IPS patch, hadn't done that before. (Hint: Lunar IPS)

    So/so: FAS1 works with my Flash2Advance 256M Flash Card, PCB ID: (H)94V0 1203. Unfortunately FAS1 is unpolished, the file list doesn't update when you scroll beyond the visable list, and it locks up when you press one of the touchscreen scroll buttons.

    Bad: GBA ExpLoader 0.58b0MX (fully patched) does not work with my Flash2Advance card. I didn't try any of the other versions though as I'm pretty sure this utility is only meant to write to EZFlash 3 in 1 cards.


    It would be nice to see someone pick up the FAS1 project as I am sure there are still some people out there with FA and F2A cards. Fortunately it appears to be open source.

    Otherwise, I'll have to pick up an EZFlash 3 in 1.

    Thanks again for the help.
     
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    GBA ExpLoader 0.58b0MX is for M3 users using the 3in1+. tools are tools, it is only bad because you don't know what and who it is for.


    Use cory's loader, suppose to support FAS. I never got around to trying it.
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/about4749.html

    either that or there was a modified version that supports FA/F2A/U. As to where that is, I don't know.
     
  6. Xastabus
    OP

    Newcomer Xastabus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I meant, it didn't work for me because it doesn't support the card I am trying to use. I didn't mean GBA ExpLoader was a bad program. Sorry if I was confusing.

    I tried cory's loader but no luck there either, it is also exclusively for the 3 in 1. Cory mentions something about working on a utility for F2A Ultra after discontinuing GBAldr, but I couldn't find anything solid.

    Back to square one.

    My best options appear to be getting an EZFlash 3 in 1, M3 GBA Expansion, or figuring out why FAS1 won't refresh the file list properly. I would prefer not to have to spend any money when I have a perfectly good flashcard.

    I've checked out the source and think I've located the functions for the file list, but I'm not exactly sure how to debug it or how to compile it after I've made changes.
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    AKAIO added the FAS code, so wood might have it. You can try the M3 wood version if they got it working by now.
     
  8. Xastabus
    OP

    Newcomer Xastabus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I tried a couple versions of Wood for M3, no luck. It has options to write to RAM or NOR, but nothing happens when I choose either.

    I also tried everything I could find in The M3 Quad-Boot. Nothing in there recognizes my F2A.
    I do like the Sakura interface though so I may be switching to it permanantly.

    I appreciate the help.
     
  9. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You will probably want to pick up a AK2i with AKAIO on it just for the F2A. Most M3 users I know have more than 1 flashcart because of older stuff they want and the updating nature of M3, slow.


    [​IMG]
     
  10. Xastabus
    OP

    Newcomer Xastabus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the advice. I've never really had a problem with the release rate of M3 updates. I tend to alternate between DS and PSP every few months or so.

    On further consideration, I'm not sure it's a very good idea to be constantly rewriting my F2A. I'm likely to do that as I like to play different stuff as the mood strikes me.

    I also read your posts in the GEP thread linked in your sig. I think the M3 GEP is better suited to what I need so I have gone ahead and ordered one from RHS.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You will eventually hit the write limit on the NOR flash the F2A uses, the less you use it the longer it will last.

    If you write 1 game everyday for five years the NOR flash in the F2A will fail afterwards.
     
  12. junn

    Member junn .

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States

    i have Flash Advance pro 256 and FA turbo 128. FAS1 will only work on the FA 256 but not on the 128 cart.
    i don't know why.
    GBA Backup Tool 0.21 works, but there's no gba game write back option.

    the acekard AKAiO 3in1/FAS1 option works great on restoring,writing or backing saves and games on the FA.

    FAS1 is also great on backing and restoring save files and games.
    but it won't scroll down past the 6 slots.
    you have to delete or move some of the saves or games from the save folder to show the one you want on the menu.
     
  13. supermike12345

    Newcomer supermike12345 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    does anybody have the m3 patch for Rudolph's GBA backup tool v.0.21, or the program with the actual patch on it. I have been looking everywhere for it but I cant seem to find it. I am looking for it to back up my eeprom saves. any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

Share This Page