Leyoh

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Hi everyone!

First of all, I wanna say I'm new to all these linkers stuff so please don't expect me to understand everything super clearly! But I'll try my best to Google everything I don't get first.

So to my issue now, we need a bit of context:

I have this exact R4 card: amzn.to/3bKA4UD

And I'm trying to back up my Emerald save using a DS Lite, with the GBA Back Up Tool, but everytime I try to access the tool, I get this error:
FAT initialization failed.
Please apply the appropriate DLDI Patch.

I've formatted my 16GB SD card multiple time in the FAT32 format, and tried using a DLDI patch (even though I'm not sure I did right, since it was the first time and couldn't find a clear tutorial on how to do it) even though I've read somewhere my card has an auto-DLDI patcher?

I've even tried the "savegame-manager" tool, which also failed miserably by simply telling me "DLDI error".

At this point, I don't know what to do and I'm this close to give up. I've bought the R4 card just for this (exactly, it's to get a semi-legit Mew from Emerald that I could trade to have the 151 gen 1 pokemon on my Fire Red version...) and it's really frustrating ahah.

Thanks everyone for the help you could provide! :)

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
That is odd.
If the label on that amazon link is correct (there are thousands of different things with R4 in the name, many not compatible with each other) then
http://r4isdhc.com.cn/index.php?m=home&c=View&a=index&aid=306 should be the download, in the "__rpg/" folder there is a file called "r4isd.dldi".

We have not had a DS slot cart, much less one like this that aims to be good, not DLDI patch automatically for many many years now and if it is indeed a hack to the wood kernel that would be even more surprising.
If you still needed a tool to patch DLDI patches into the homebrew program then http://www.chishm.com/DLDI/#tools has a bunch.

That said