Hacking Gateway Mode black screen after installing on N3DS

JimBonza

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
50
Country
Hi,

So I've finally decided to install Gateway on my 9.0 MM N3DS XL.
Installed the Cubic Ninja save exploit via Sky3DS to launch into Gateway Mode.

Backed up my SYSNAND, formatted EMUNAND, loaded into Gateway Mode but my N3DS just hangs on a black screen and I'm not sure why.

Can't seem to find any answers on Google, any help?
 

JimBonza

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
50
Country
No, I'm booting gateway mode with the red card inserted. I do this perfectly fine on my normal 3DS XL

Now even loading the menu from Cubic Ninja causes black screen :S
 

juli299

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
88
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
588
Country
Germany
Did you really properly install emuNAND? The same happened to me and my old 3DS when Gateway released their support for 9.x consoles in january. I was too impatient and turned off my 3DS after choosing "Format emuNAND" because I thought it had hung up, but in fact it just needs some time after which it will confirm the succesful formatting.
So I would first advise you to re-format emuNAND again, wait until it is completely done, and try booting up into Gateway mode again. If the black screen still occurs, try running a diagnostic test in the Gateway menu and report back what it shows. Good luck!

EDIT: Too late, as usual. :D Looks like the problem is solved :)
 

JimBonza

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
50
Country
I'll probably reformat again anyway and run a diag see what happens cos I'm literally having 40/60 success rate. I know I installed it properly.
 

weatMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
3,276
Trophies
1
Age
45
XP
3,080
Country
United States
This did the trick, not entirely sure why. Hope it doesn't become a regular thing.
i can confirn i had the same problem whn i set up GW on my AU N3DSXL with an original EU CN cart

at first i hate to reboot like 5 or 6 times ,having it hand on both booting to GW mode and on loading CN exploit
but noe it seems to work fine and i havent had any problems since
 

polki

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
225
Country
I'll probably reformat again anyway and run a diag see what happens cos I'm literally having 40/60 success rate. I know I installed it properly.

I've been using Gateway on a n3ds since it was supported and I have a 80% success rate which is nearly predictable. I'm using sky3ds as well and it's the same with CN and MM. Maybe it's something about the sky3ds.
 

AkiraX3

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
51
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
58
Country
Gambia, The
Having nearly the same Problem,
Starting cubic-> load save-> Gateway menu appears-> swap cards and boot Gateway Mode -> sometimes with Black Screen (Hard Reboot the N3DS helps)
And try again...

I got better results after waiting several seconds after swapping the cards and then press the Button to boot into Gateway..

Trying to Backup my cards with dd and reformat them with SD-Formatter (Full) today.
Hope that fixes the Problem.

SD Cards:
Sandisk Extreme Pro 64 GB (Gateway)
Sandisk Extreme Pro 32 GB (N3DS)
 

JimBonza

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
50
Country
Didn't bother formatting, I figured it was just something to do with contacts since everytime I do a diag test (and it PASSES) I don't seem to have the problem.

That said, I'll be taking my old 3DS XL with me for the next few days of travel cos swapping the cards out is gonna be a pain in the ass.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/VfCYZ3pks48