Gateway DOA?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Arirang, May 4, 2015.

  1. Arirang
    OP

    Arirang Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2015
    Canada
    So I finally received my gateway after waiting a month and after playing games with my N3DS XL for only a couple of hours it's not working anymore... So far I've tried starting from step 1 and formatting emunand again, tried 3 different SD cards, tried reformatting the SD cards but to no avail. I've even run the diagnostic test in gateway menu and everything passed!

    The error message that I keep seeing is "the game card has been removed". It's weird though since the gateway card sees the game when I press select and sometimes the game will run for about 5 seconds before the message shows up.

    So before I request a exchange does anyone have any idea of what I could do to make it work? I'd prefer not to exchange it since I've been waiting so long to play some games.
     
  2. rickycoe123

    rickycoe123 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    389
    29
    Jun 23, 2014
    It's not DOA by the sound of it as that means 'dead on arrival'. It either sounds like a faulty cart slot on your console or a faulty GW cart.
     
  3. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    7,050
    3,367
    Nov 13, 2014
    United States
    Run the diagnostic test and tell us what does it says and does your gateway card light up during the test?
    Edit: NVM I should learn to read it sounds like its either a pressure issue or a bent pin in your 3ds.
     
  4. Arirang
    OP

    Arirang Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2015
    Canada
    Poor choice of words lol, for sure not DOA. It's definitely not my console because I can play Mario Kart 7 on it for hours without any errors.
     
  5. ravihpa

    ravihpa GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    605
    242
    Apr 11, 2007
    India
    Maybe try the paper trick ? That will push the card down and hopefully resolve any pin connection issue.
     
  6. Arirang
    OP

    Arirang Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2015
    Canada
    I just tried putting a piece of paper behind the card as I pushed it in, and I'm still getting the same error
     
  7. pokemoner2500

    pokemoner2500 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    846
    276
    Aug 14, 2013
    United States
    All I can suggest is use CIA's
     
    zoogie likes this.
  8. InfoFront

    InfoFront Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    55
    23
    Mar 23, 2015
    United States
    Gateway really has terrible quality control. I received a truly DOA one a few weeks ago.
     
  9. sarkwalvein

    sarkwalvein Professional asshole at GBATemp

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    sarkwalvein is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,864
    4,918
    Jun 29, 2007
    Germany
    Niedersachsen
    That totally sounds like the SPI fault.
    Run the tests and confirm it.
    The paper trick works but is a headache to pull off.
    You need to put A LOT of pressure, to the point that later you will need almost twizzers to take the GW out, and you need to try once and again.
    Also, if you have the SPI problem try to make it work ONCE, run bigbluemenu.3ds and install bigbluemenu.cia in your emunand.
    Later you can install whatever game as CIA in the emunand, and it won't matter if you have SPI error, it will work anyway.
     
  10. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member
    5,136
    1,478
    Oct 21, 2005
    Belgium
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Could be N3DS Gamecart problem
    Could be Gateway MicroSD problem
    But like "sarkwalvein" says, try to get Devmenu/BBBMenu or CIA installer working from your Gateway SD and install any of them (or all 3) as CIA, no need to run anything from Gateway anymore.
    (You need 1 of the 3 as .3DS on your Gateway SD and any of the 3 mentioned as .CIA on your N3DS SD so you can install the CIA version)
     
  11. Arirang
    OP

    Arirang Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2015
    Canada
    I already ran the tests, and they've all passed. It looks like CIA may be my only hope, but I'd prefer to have the functionality of using .3ds too

    I will probably go for an exchange after I try testing the gateway card on someone else's 3ds. Thanks for your help everyone!
     
  12. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    241
    Jun 17, 2010
    Canada
    I had the same situation happen to me with my first gateway card bought from modchipcentral. Tested in a OG 3DS and 3DS XL and no difference, always getting the message "Gamecard has been removed". I sent it back to modchipcentral and they quickly sent me a replacement which has been working flawlessly since then. I bought a second one late last year from the same place, and no problem with it either. So, it's really just bad luck getting a lemon. I would return it if I were you. As you know now, these things are expensive, and it's normal to expect a 100% working unit. Good luck!
     
  13. dsrules

    dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,634
    503
    Sep 20, 2005
    Try use a different microsd card
     
  14. zoogie

    zoogie simple pimp tool

    Member
    6,237
    7,894
    Nov 30, 2014
    United States
    9/10 problems with 3ds scene related things can be solved with "use CIA's". They're the best thing since sliced bread and color TVs.
     
  15. Arirang
    OP

    Arirang Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2015
    Canada
    That's great to hear, since I bought from them too :lol:

    Do you just send the whole gateway package and cards back to them with your invoice inside? Because I don't see anything on their website stating to start an RMA or anything first.
     
  16. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    241
    Jun 17, 2010
    Canada
    It's been a while, but I think I did contact them with email just to confirm that they were ok with me shipping it back to them. They didn't make it hard at all, and gave me an authorization number to put on the parcel. I just sent the red card in it's box. The blue card worked fine, so I didn't send it back. They shipped back to me a red gateway loose in a bubble bag, which was inside the purolator padded bag. So basically, they kept the box. :lol:
     
  17. Arirang
    OP

    Arirang Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 4, 2015
    Canada
    Thanks for the help dust2dust, I just sent them an email. Sucks I have to wait longer to finally play some games!!
     
  18. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    241
    Jun 17, 2010
    Canada
    It'll be worth the wait, don't worry. The only thing that sucks is having to pay to ship it back. I sent it express post to get proof of delivery (didn't want to take a chance for an $80 gadget back then). In the mean time, time to hunt online for some roms. :D