Gaming Setup Help

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Intimidator88, Sep 18, 2012.

Sep 18, 2012

Gaming Setup Help by Intimidator88 at 10:07 PM (1,405 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Ok guys atm my setup in the bedroom is pc monitor and desktop through hdmi and ext speakers then right beside it i have my Xbox 360.To switch from ` to the other i have to unplug the hdmi from the desktop to the xbox or vice verser and to have sound from the speakers i have to unplug the speaker wires from the desktop and plug them into a little box that lets me use the speakers on the 360. (on 1 side it have ports of the 3 speaker wires and on the other side it has 2 ports for the red and white component cables.)


    So how can i have it where i dont have to unplug anything and just hit a switch to switch over or something of that nature? For the HDMI im thinking an HDMI box and for the speakers im thinking ill need a splitter or something.
     


  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For me, my secondary monitor (with the wii, 360 and PS3 all hooked into the HDMI and component inputs, and the PC in DVI) has built in sound so it plays straight off HDMI.

    For my friend who has the same setup as you, he managed a way to hook several adaptors to get sound through his speakers. Standard 360 component cables, red and white to mini jack adaptor, Y-joiner adaptor(takes 2 inputs and 1 output) to connect both PC and 360... And for video, either HDMI or VGA cable.

    Word of warning about the above setup - if you play audio from both PC and 360 at the same time, what comes out is a bit painful to the ears. I personally would rather just manually move the cable, although my speakers do feature and auxiliary audio input for things like mp3 players or, Xbox 360.
     
  3. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I have everything (pc and multiple consoles) set up through a yamaha home theater system. A tad expensive but one of the best setups.
     
  4. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Would my HD PVR help me in anyway of making this easier?


     
  5. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so i went to walmart and got these

    HDMI Dual Port Switch box
    AV/Video Switch Box
    3.5mm Audio Cable


    The HDMI box solved the switching cables part for video but the other 2 i still cant get sound to both without switching the cables :( Heres some pics of what i got so far so you guys can lead me in the right direction! (btw atm i do have sound through both but the problem is i got the yellow,pink cable in the pc and the black 1 in the xbox so im not getting the full effect of my 5.1 surround sound but atm it will have to do till i find a better way)

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/18/boxfronts.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/138/boxbackh.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/189/splitterf.jpg/ -----------------------------> This is what im using atm to get sound to the 360
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/allqy.jpg/

    Will any of this help?
     
  6. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    What I'm not clear on is how your speakers hook up to your PC, as well as what inputs your speakers have.

    I assume you're using the RCA L/R from the Xbox, what outputs on the PC though? You're using front out, rear out, and center out (and sub?) for the 5.1?

    What will likely be the easiest thing to do is, assuming your PC runs Windows, buy a pair of RCA couplers and a RCA dual female to 3.5mm male cable, hook that to the Xbox and the 3.5 to the line-in on your PC. Open your sound properties, find your line-in port, and check off "Listen to this device". That'll play your Xbox audio through the PC, but the two downsides are that the PC has to be on and I've also noticed it has about a half second playback delay.

    So, back to my main question - what hookups does your stereo/speaker system have for input, whether your computer is using them or not? (And then that Xbox contraption to use it with your speakers as well)
     
  7. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States

    Well i hook the speakers up through the back of the pc with the colors that match it such as in the pic ill post. When everything is hooked up im using "center out" "front speaker out" "rear speaker out" Do i have them hooked up wrong cause they all work just fine but atm i got them split between the 360 and pc with black going to 360 and the other 2 going into the back of the pc. So i got sound to both but not the full sound from all speakers

    http://imageshack.us...1/24717069.png/


    This is what my regular setup looks like when i got every speaker hooked up to my pc. ----------------------> http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/59/regsetup.png/
     
  8. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming you want the Xbox to come out over all 5 channels, huh?

    If you don't care, it's piss easy.

    If you do want it to come out over all 5, it's still pretty easy, but you're going to have a big tangle of wires/adapters.

    It's also not gonna be 5.1 surround from the Xbox, it's gonna be 5.1 stereo, no matter how you do it, unless you end up hooking your Xbox up through HDMI or Optical audio. Just so you know.
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IIRC, the optical cable port is called the S/PDIF. It looks like a house.
     
  10. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States

    Id like it to come out all 5 if possible
     
  11. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, I'm losing my mind still. That splitter, linked in the picture a few posts up, lets you outputs the L/R RCA from the Xbox to the 5 channels of your speaker system, right?

    If so:

    3 of these and 3 of these (assuming 6' is long enough, if not, go back to the "Audio Cable - RCA and 3.5mm" category and choose a larger length). You're going to plug the splitters into the ports on your PC that your speakers plug into; each speaker cable plugs into either of the two leads on the splitter on it's respective port, and from the Xbox adapter box, run one of the 6' audio cables from the box to the same splitter on the other lead - Exactly what Originality had said in the first reply, but to be honest, I've done this exact thing myself multiple times (however, only using the front channel, not center or rear, but it wouldn't make a difference) and I never had a problem. The only drawback you'll run into is if either device is powered off (the computer or the Xbox), your volume level of the other is going to be reduced, because having another device hooked in creates extra draw. Reduced volume means you need to turn your stereo higher, and I've yet to see a single stereo that doesn't create static/white noise to some degree when turned up.

    Your other option, like I said, is going to be to get one of these, hook your Xbox L/R cables into it, and plug that into your Line-in port on your pc (if not, use a mic port if you don't use the mic port), find that input in your Sound Properties, enable it and "Listen to this device". I'm not sure if that'll output only L/R or 5.1 though. And like I said, I have usually found a ~.5 second delay while doing that.

    On the bright side, this stuff is cheap enough that you could always order what you need for both options and try them both. Monoprice is legitimate, if you've never ordered from them. They're CA based, I usually get my stuff in about a week and a half tops after I order it, and I live in NJ.
     
  12. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Well i ordered both options and see how they work out,how long does it take mono items to get delivered anyways?
     
  13. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Usually about a week and a half, at most, is when you should have it.
     
  14. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Not reading this thread, but this is what I have

    2 monitors: One is a smaller monitor that is used always for the computer. The second is a Samsung monitor that I use for the computer for Dual displays and also used as my gaming monitor for my PS3.
    I have the PS3 hooked up using an HDMI cord plugged into my Samsung monitor while the DVI plug I think it is, plugs into my computer. I just hit a button on the monitor and I can go from PS3 to Computer with the touch of a button.

    For sound I have a Logitech speaker system where I can plug the speakers normally into my computer, but on the control deck, it has inputs so I can plug something with an audio jack into it like an iPod or something. So I took the standard audio cords that came with the PS3, got a splitter for 10 bucks, and plugged that into the control deck.


    Now with the Xbox, I'm not entirely sure if this will help you out the most, but it should give you a vague idea.
     
  15. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States

    Well the splitters worked i got all 5 speakers working with both now so i guess i didnt need the y splitter but you was right i did need to turn the sound up but not to the point where it causes static or white noises but even when both systems are on its still lower then normal but like i said just turned it up abit and it solved the problem. Thanks for the help guys!
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Hey glad to hear you got it working man!
     
  17. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to bump an old thread but i am wondering if i can do the Wii U like this as well cause i tried it and couldnt get any audio,Is there something i need or is it not possibile yet with the wii u?
     
  18. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    There should be no reason why it won't work as long as you're using a Wii component/composite cable (which it doesn't come with), or using the Audio Out jacks on your TV (provided it has them, not all do).
     
  19. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Im using what came with my HD PVR which has muilt plugins for the 360,wii and ps3 and has the red,yellow and white cables on the other end,which works fine with the ps3 and 360.
     
  20. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using hdmi at the same time on the WiiU?
     

Share This Page