Gamecube USB loader, no disc

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by psyche1, Aug 13, 2012.

Aug 13, 2012

Gamecube USB loader, no disc by psyche1 at 10:20 PM (2,210 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. psyche1
    OP

    Newcomer psyche1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ok... So here I go, I am new to the forums, in fact I just created my account, so please be kind. I am asking because I have already searched in countless guides and tutorials and after about 2 weeks of failing every attempt on my own, I am desperate. If this is in the wrong section please move it to the right place.

    Anyway so the problem is I want to play The Legend of Zelda Wind Waker, I have the original disc but sadly my dvd drive is busted so I have to resort to playing it from either a usb drive or and sd card, after many tutorials video and forums, I managed to even get it running off USB Loader GX v3.0 from the SD card, but after the game booted my GC controller was blocked so I could not play the game, I do know the controller is working because I used it to navigate through the GX interface. I tried Neogamma, but it requires a disc to be in the slot, and my slot is busted so that was a useless effort. Basically if any1 can offer any advice on how I could get this game running on my wii, through either a usb device or and sd card, I would appreciate it very much! Also I lack a gamecube memory card, but I saw an option for NMM (no more memory) so I assume that is not much of a big deal.

    Thx in advance :D
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Some GameCube controller (mainly third party) doesn't work with DIOS MIOS (Lite).
    If you can, you should try another controller.

    Your settings are fine if you could launch the game.

    About NMM setting it doesn't work for all games, but seems to work for Wind Waker.
     
  3. psyche1
    OP

    Newcomer psyche1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    But my controller is original from nintendo, a bit old but has always worked, besides I tested with 2 different controllers, a wave bird and a normal Nintendo Gamecube controller...
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I don't know what the problem is then.
    You can try another loader to see if it's the loader or the controller, or DM(L) version :
    DM Booter, Wiiflow, Config loader, Postloader :)

    The easiest is DMBooter.
     
  5. Badablek

    Member Badablek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    France
    Hi psyche,

    Is your gamecube controller connected to the first GC port ? I know this can be a dumb question, but I had someone with the same problem, and his controller was connected...to port 4 :ninja:
     
  6. psyche1
    OP

    Newcomer psyche1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I will try alternate loaders now and let you guys know how it went. Yes the controller is connected to port 1, that was like the 2nd thing I checked when it wasn't working. thanks so far and I'll report back after the tests :yaywii:
     
  7. psyche1
    OP

    Newcomer psyche1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Well, this is the situation, I tried DM booter like you said, and I kept getting a black screen, no matter how I messed around the in the configurations, so I tried a desperate measure... I formatted my SD card and just took everything back from square 1, but DM booter is still giving me the black screen, and USB loader GX that was working (except the controller) is now also giving me a black screen... I'm stumped... Any advice?
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The black screen is often because the device is not detected/mounted correctly, or use an incompatible interface. (My drive use two different interfaces randomly, one working and one not working).

    To test your controller, you could do it with the SD card and DML 2.2 update1 (download it again if you took it before today)
    that way, you will see if it's a problem in your settings or the USB detection which give blackscreen.

    There's no reason that it worked fine (except the controller), and now it doesn't.


    Maybe there's something obvious I'm not thinking?
    maybe Badablek has another idea.


    Edit:
    I re-read your first post. You are already using DML, not DM+USB right?
    I never had a black screen with DML, except with DML2.2 (it doesn't work).
    You need to update DML2.2 (from august 6th) to DML2.2 (from august 13rd)
     
  9. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    I know this will not help you too much since you're drive is dead but others who have reported the controller locking problem have also reported that they fixed it by running a retail disk from the disk channel once and after that it just worked fine for some reason. If someone could figure out what actually changed in NAND or whatever to make that work, they could make a fix for it. If it's that those consoles have simply never played a retail disk before I could understand that but that's never been confirmed.

    What version of DML are you running? (I'm assuming 2.2, the latest.) Have you tried the older v1.5 or r59? They might not have had the error in those versions.
     

Share This Page