Gamecube on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by matrixebiz, May 14, 2012.

May 14, 2012

Gamecube on Wii by matrixebiz at 6:13 PM (2,989 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello, anyone have a simple guide for playing burned Gamecube games on a softmodded Wii?
    I downloaded a .GCM Gamecube game image and burned it to DVD using ImgBurn but the Wii just tells me that the Disc is unsupported. Thx
     


  2. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you have to have a custom MIOS. Your Wii will play burned Wii discs, right?
     
  3. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    You have to have a custom MIOS, a Wii that still supports backup discs, and (obviously) a hacked Wii.
     
  4. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't tried burned Wii games as I play all my downloaed Wii games off USB HD. My Wii is a 4.2U.
     
  5. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    System menu doesn't matter, the Wii hardware revision does. Go here and tell us the results. We can then verify whether you can play Backup Discs or not.
     
  6. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, I'll have to check when I get back home tonight.
     
  7. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a suitable Wii drive use NeoGamma
     
  8. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    If you don't have a suitable drive, you'd have to use DML to play backup disk images off of an SD card.
     
  9. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Use MIOS patcher or install Waninkoko's/WiiGator's cMIOS.
     
  10. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, my drive is;
    The Wii has a RVL-001(USA) model number and is produced for Mexico/Canada/USA.

    Is this good?
     
  11. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, my drive is;
    The Wii has a RVL-001(USA) model number and is produced for Mexico/Canada/USA.

    Will my drive support back-ups? Is MIOS Patcher the easiest to install?
    Thanks
     
  12. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know, you still haven't given me your drive model. It will be above a piechart that will give you the percentage of which drive you may have. Some don't play backups, some do. I won't know until I get that model number.

    Also, is your Wii modded? What guides did you use? What loaders are you using? Install MIOS and then try it in Neogamma.


    EDIT: Also, which game are you trying to play? Some are incompatible. See here for a list.
     
  13. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh, sorry, I thought RVL-001 was the model, I'll check agian. It is a Softmodded 4.3U done a couple years ago. I use Configurable USB loader to play all my Wii games of an external USB HardDrive. The game I'm trying to play is Super Monkey Ball 2 for GameCube.
     
  14. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    If it CAME WITH 4.3U it's new enough that the drive won't be compatible with DVD-R.
    If you updated it from a previous version it's older and there's a chance.

    TYPICALLY, Wii's that were packed with MotionPlus have the newer drive and those that weren't don't but there are some exceptions.

    Edit : also, if you're Wii's not white, there's no way it can read DVD-R disks.
     
  15. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, is this the info you need?
    DVD drive and chipset features
    Your drive most likely has the following chipset:
    • There is a 75% chance the chipset is GC2-D3-2 (v2) with no drive chip.
    • And there is also a 25% chance the chipset is Combined GC2-D3 with no drive chip.
     
  16. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    D3-2 is the drive that can't read DVD-R disks so there's a 75% chance it CAN'T.
     
  17. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    This means you most likely can't play DVD backups, which means you'll have to DML as linked to on the first page.
     
  18. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know any wii can have the drive replaced. If an older drive is installed then you should be able to read backup disks. Replacement drives sell for about $40 on amazon.
     
  19. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Or you could, y'know, use Dios Mios Lite for free? It's in active development, as well as Devolution (Rumoured?) and Dios Mios (Rumoured USB Edition?). ;)
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. matrixebiz
    OP

    Newcomer matrixebiz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Confused, so Dios Mios Lite will allow it to read DVD-R's? or do I still need to replace the Drive?
     

Share This Page