Gameboy Color Blown Fuse

Discussion in 'Other Handhelds' started by goemon_guy, Jun 4, 2014.

1. goemon_guy
    OP

goemon_guy GBAtemp Regular

Aug 16, 2011
    Canada
    Canada
    I have two Gameboy Colors that no longer power on.
    One of which I am sure has two blown fuses; the other a problem I cannot identify precisely, (although one of the fuses DID wind up blowing, according to my multimeter.)

They're both limited edition GBCs, which is why I want to fix them.
    I'm aware that I could buy two regular GBCs and take the motherboard and replace it, but, first I'd like to exhaust my options, such as possibly bridging the fuses to avoid having to spend $50 on a used GBC on eBay.

At any rate, how would I go about bridging over the fuses?
    I have limited knowledge in terms of dealing with this sort of thing, so what materials would I need?
    Judging by what I've read, I've seen that I have to solder the two ends of a wire to the ends of the fuses.
    I've also read that you can bridge it with a 'blob of solder,' bypassing the need of a wire.
    The only reason that I want to do this is because there are no places that come to mind in my city that sells wires or anything for this task.

2. Ozito

Ozito Not a new member anymore

Mar 20, 2006
    Sweden
    It is not recommended to bypass a fuse in such ways, because whatever blew those fuses is going to do a lot more damage when they are bypassed.

So now that you have that in mind and still want to do it, then you are going to need some "basic" tools.

• A soldering iron, one that is suited for soldering on small electronics and that isn't too hot.
    • Solder, try to find solder with rosin core otherwise get some flux. The flux is to make the solder "stick" better and not leave a mess behind, make sure to wipe of the remaining residue with some isopropanol/isopropyl alcohol.
    • A sponge that is specifically made for wiping off the excess solder on the soldering iron.