1. NintendyFan

    OP NintendyFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    I'm working on a repair project and couldn't find any information on this. So, I decided I would start up a thread on which games require batteries to save or run other activities.


    Without further adieu,

    GBA games that require batteries for saving and other functions:


    - Baseball Advance
    - Boktai 1, 2 and 3 (JP)
    - Bomberman Tournament
    - Breath of Fire
    - Breath of Fire II
    - Castlevania: Circle of the Moon
    - Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance
    - Dragonball Z Collectible Card Game
    - Hamtaro: Ham-Ham Heartbreak
    - Kirby: Nightmare in Dream Land
    - Krazy Racers
    - Lego Bionicle
    - Lego Island 2: The Brickster's Revenge
    - MegaMan Battle Network
    - MegaMan Zero
    - Metroid Fusion (Only some use a battery)
    - Metroid Zero Mission
    - Monster Rancher Advance
    - Monster Rancher Advance 2
    - Pokemon Emerald (Not for saving, but for other game events)
    - Pokemon Ruby (Not for saving, but for other game events)
    - Pokemon Sapphire (Not for saving, but for other game events)
    - Super Dodgeball Advance
    - Warioland 4



    If anyone else can name so other games that require batteries, please let me know!
     
  2. Necron

    Necron Lurking~
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    981
    Country:
    Chile
    Boktai 1, 2 and 3 (this one is in japanese, bokura no taiyo)
     
  3. Mariosegafreak

    Mariosegafreak AKA ZeroTheSavior
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United States
    ALL the megaman battle network games. No wonder they save instantly.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,340
    Country:
    United States
    Basically any game that uses "SRAM" to save will use a battery for saving purposes. So here's a complete list of those titles: http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/releases/advsearching.php?Name=&Release=&Publisher=&Country=&Language=&Dumper=&Filename=&Internal=&Serial=&CRC32=&Size=&Save=%25SRAM%25&Sort=Release

    This doesn't necessarily include games that have batteries purely for a real-time clock, or for any other purpose. Just for saving via SRAM.
     
  5. NintendyFan

    OP NintendyFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm.. Megaman Battle Network 3 White for sure doesn't, I just repaired one of those. I'll look into this more and add these new titles tomorrow. Thanks for the suggestions. :)
     
  6. NintendyFan

    OP NintendyFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Dantheman: hmm.. Not so sure that's true. There is a great deal of titles on that list that I've seen with no battery, pokemon pinball for one.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,340
    Country:
    United States
    My mistake, I forgot that many of the later ones could be FeRAM though they're still classified as SRAM in the release lists - http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/index.php?title=GBA_Saves
     
  8. NintendyFan

    OP NintendyFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Not a problem, :P
     
  9. hare1222

    hare1222 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this list. I've disected a few of my GBA carts with the tri-wing screwdriver and discovered that many of them don't use backup batteries. This is pretty cool, as it means I won't need to replace burnt out batteries in most of my favs. Mega Man Zero 2 and Final Fantasy Tactics are two that use SRAM as opposed to batteries. Unfortunately, FF6 does use a battery. Bummer when it dies.


     
  10. hare1222

    hare1222 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Final Fantasy VI uses a battery. I own it and have disected it with the tri-wing screwdriver.

    These games don't use batteries:

    Gunstar Super Heroes (yay!)
    Mega Man Zero 2
    Final Fantasy Tactics
    Final Fantasy I&II Dawn of Souls
    Summon Night Swordcraft Story 2
    Street Fighter Alpha 3
    Mario Advance 2: Super Mario World
     
  11. regnad

    regnad Button Masher
    Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,307
    Country:
    Listing GBC games as well? Both Oracles have batteries.
     
  12. Varia

    Varia GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Actually, I also have MMBN3 White, and had my save battery replaced a few years back. It does have one of those, that's for sure.
    Even my 2nd battery had burnt out already, I was so pissed off that it happened only like 5 months later...
    I'm not sure about MMBN5 and 6, but I know for fact that 1-4 all use those save batteries.
    It's the only thing that always kept me from getting physical copies of the whole series...
     
  13. NintendyFan

    OP NintendyFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible that they've made 2 different versions with battery save and just SRAM memory, thanks for clearing this up for me! I'll edit this ASAP.


     
  14. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    For some reason, on the PH list of games that use SRAM+Battery to save, Final Fantasy IV is on there, but mine doesn't have a battery.
     
  15. NintendyFan

    OP NintendyFan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't seen a IV with a battery yet, but it is possible. Like I said above, it would seem they created some versions ( presumably first release ) of games that use battery and then when creating another run of them, used SRAM no battery.
     
  16. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    That's certainly a possibility.
     
  17. Sumea

    Sumea Disco Ninja Frog
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,558
    Country:
    Finland
    I have an european copy of Warioland 4 which seems to be using FeRAM and no battery backup, though the casing clearly has "slotting" for battery backup in the casing. Still, non battery backed up FeRAM seems to be in use.

    I find it possible the whole list of games is "only some" - possibly depending on region or revision.
    I am just happy only my ruby has battery and even that is just for the clock.
     
  18. bradzx

    bradzx x-Darkie-x
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,171
    Country:
    United States
    I have Bomberman Tournament cartridge with me and I save the file. Then I turn on and pick Quest, it delete by itself. I don't have any tool with me. I know I need to buy it but I forgot what is name of tool to open it up. So I can change the battery.
     
  19. Plstic

    Plstic Guru Meditation Error
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the bump but megaman battle network 1 does indeed have a sram battery.
     
  20. FlareFolf

    FlareFolf Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Blender Bros. also seems to have a save battery, i have seen two copies of the game from the inside and they both had one
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Requiring, Batteries, (GameBoy