Freezing is it normal?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by CrazySka, Mar 19, 2011.

Mar 19, 2011

Freezing is it normal? by CrazySka at 5:25 PM (915 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I was just using my acekard 2i which i got on wednesday. I had loaded a ROM and half way threw the "training" it froze. I restarted and its working fine now. Is this normal?
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,838
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes the cart can come a bit loose, just make sure it's in far enough and it will work fine.
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Not so much 'normal' as 'expected'...
    The AceKard has a thinner PCB (Printed Circuit Board) than other cards including that of retail games. This doesn't cause too much of a problem on new DS/DSLites, but on older systems and DSi's (which have a wider slot) it can cause contact issues.

    Scroll down to Step 12 here:
    http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...up-your-acekard

    I prefer cutting a piece of paper about the size of the contacts and slipping it under the PCB.
    This keeps the paper hidden and always in place so you don't have to worry about losing it or it getting crumpled or torn or stuck -- also looks a hell of a lot better.
     
  4. lompoc

    Banned lompoc Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    send it back to store wich you bought it lot of stores saleing bunk acekard2i mine is first made so its best .............................buy a dstwo wich i want one to play arcade
     
  5. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No mine is a real acekard. I went to the site there was a sticker on it to peel off and go to the site and put in the code to verfiy it was real and it was. I mean I haven't had any problems since the one freezing. It was when i was playing Advance Wars Day of Recon.... But its been working fine since So I dunno. I was curious cause im using a 8gig micro SDHC card and have about 40 roms on it lol
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Ignore lompoc, he's an idiot troll who think's he's some big hotshot in the DS Scene (but doesn't know what the hell he's talking about).
     
  7. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    This is no longer just "normal", but it's gotten to the point where if it doesn't happen, your cart is a clone.

    As twiz said, try the paper trick.
     
  8. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    My card's legit, and it's never happened to me in my DSi.
     
  9. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    It doesn't happen to some models of course, that was a generalization.

    It's never happened to me either.

    But it doesn't happen on the Actel chipped genuine models, that's for sure. And before anyone goes "BUT THE ACTEL CHIPPED ONES ARE CLONES" remember that Acekard's original 2i had an Actel chip.
     
  10. lompoc

    Banned lompoc Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    i dont think im anything===========================troll is you did a midget before thats how you made the name troll========its real cart but contacks wont work good with some acekard2i carts. had mine for 2 years now and works good hope you get it to work? now we know how you made that name troll truth is out there and ufo.s
     
  11. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    What.

    The.

    Fuck.

    This post just effectively erased most, if not all, hope I had for the future of the scene.
     
  12. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Wow...What? Not one ounce of that post made sense [​IMG] Even Google translate makes more sense [​IMG] .

    But yeah, I'd say it's due to the build quality.
     
  13. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    You make me worry about the intelligence of humanity. I didn't make sense out of anything you said.
    And fix your abysmal grammar/spelling/typing skills.

    On-topic: It's not normal, but it's common. You can try the paper trick, which has been successful for me for the most part.
     
  14. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    lompoc is just an idiot troll who thinks he's a bigshot in the DS Scene, but doesn't know what he's talking about and makes nonsensical posts (seriously, check the post history... it's not long).

    Oh wait, I already said that here...
     
  15. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    my DSXL requires the paper trick.
    without paper trick, that damn thing locks up, freezes, doesn't show up, etc.

    ironically, it having tape on it makes it NOT show up on a DSi.
     

Share This Page