FLV player

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by WeeBabyDoll, Feb 17, 2010.

Feb 17, 2010

FLV player by WeeBabyDoll at 8:38 PM (4,130 Views / 0 Likes) 42 replies

  1. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded FLV player last night as I was trying to watch a film online, only it was running slow. Anyway, upon restarting my browser it changed my homepage to
    http://flvdirect.iamwired.net/ which my WOT says isnt a trustworthy site. I changed it back to the original homepage and uninstalled the program.
    I tried to go onto a movie site to catch up on my favourite TV show and it sends me to the same site. WTF is going on?!
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Congratulations, you installed a PUP, Potentially Unwanted Program. The funny thing is, it's not considered a virus since it doesn't spread itself, you chose to download and install it, not reading the license agreement which said they'd do this shit. [​IMG]

    Check the addons for your internet browser, and remove the one the program installed.

    EDIT: Then use VLC for playing FLV videos, it doesn't pull any of this crap and is well-known.

    EDIT2: Argh, typo. Again.
     
  3. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I checked my addons, and there is nothing except the ones I installed already. My own stupidity really...
    I uninstalled FLV should that not have sorted the problem??
     
  4. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    nice work infecting yourself with adware
     
  5. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I do try.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which browser?
    If it's firefox, check your plugins as well as your addons.
     
  7. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it's firefox...I have a few plugins but nothing thats matches FLV.
     
  8. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Check your hosts file.

    1) Open Notepad as an Admin (if you're on Vista or Windows 7)
    2) Click Open & browse to C:/Windows/System32/drivers/ect
    3) Select to see "All Files" in the drop down menu from the "Open File" dialog box
    4) Click Hosts
    5) Should look like this.

    If there's anything else delete it but you MUST have the 127.0.0.1 localhost line. Unless there are lines that you know are suppose to be there... (like when you pirate Photoshop CS4, there are blacklist URLs there or you'll get caught...)

    Good Luck.

    Also, give us a link to FLV player's installer. Lemme check it out.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Get us a list of all your addons and plugins.
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got VLC on, although I use a separate player for FLV usually; I'm guessing you've installed a different version to what I use...
     
  11. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey,
    under 127.0.0.1 local host was
    # ::1 localhost

    Here is a list of my extensions-
    AdBlock plus 1.1.3
    WOT
    Yahoo toolbar
    Flashblock

    And my plugins -
    Adobe Acrobat
    Divs player netscape plugin
    Divx player
    Google plugin
    Java deployment toolkit
    Java platform SE 6 U14
    Mozilla default plugin
    Shockwave flash
    Silverlight plugin
    Windows live photo gallery
    Yahoo! Browser plus plugin

    Hope this helps [​IMG]
     
  12. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The version I use is located here, so you can give that a try if you want. Also, I don't think you should provide the link for that other site, just in case.
     
  14. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely a virus. The countdown for when their "offer" expires, reset each time you visit the page. How to remove it will be revealed shortly after I experiment on my Windows 7's XP Mode.

    EDIT: The installer is 290KB, why not just hold up a sign that says HI IM A VIRUS. (technically its adware). NVM, it connected to the site during installation. Its one of those installers that downloads the actual installer from the main site. Like Avast!.

    EDIT2: Everything's fine.... It didn't change my homepage or anything... O.o then again I'm using IE6 since its XP mode on Windows 7.
     
  15. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    did you know you can play .flv in almost any media player or just open it with your browser, downloading a player just for flv is idiotic
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Not WMP by default.
     
  17. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    no one wants to use such a sad program
     
  18. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Check this out: link

    You're not the only one my friend. My suggestion: Download & Install MalwareBytes Anti-Malware. Run a full scan and let it fix your computer ;D

    EDIT: Just did a scan with MalwareBytes Anti-Malware on my XP Mode Environment. Did a QUICK Scan and it found 54 infections. All FLV Direct Player. Well there's the solution & proven too.

    EDIT2: Just got a new PCWorld Mag in the mail. Title pertains to Security Threats and how to remove them. Wanna borrow? hahaha jk.

    If you ever have anymore virus related problems you can always check out Rydian's very well written & formatted guide on how to remove infections. link
     
  19. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right I will scan with Malwarebytes and see what it comes up with. Thanks everyone who has helped so far - you know who you are. I will post the log when I'm done.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's the program that comes with windows.
    It can't play FLVs.
    Therefore, you do need to download something to play FLVs on windows.
    Somebody that doesn't already know about FLVs could easily be led to download a program they don't need to, like the OP did.
     

Share This Page