Flashme or not to Flashme?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by astrangeone, Dec 6, 2009.

Dec 6, 2009

Flashme or not to Flashme? by astrangeone at 3:18 AM (1,021 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. astrangeone
    OP

    Member astrangeone GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So, a permanently weird situation has developed. My cousin inherited an older DS Lite, and a very powerful slot-2 flashcart. Weirdly enough, the DS Lite is not flash'med at all. Now he's confused on what to get - an microSD for the slot 2 flashcart or a slot 1 device.

    He noticed my DS Lite is flashme'd - that got rid of my "safety and warning" screen. He then asks me how I did it. I gave him a basic lecture (the DS has an O/S that can be replaced...etc), and now he wants to pay me to flash his cart. I tell him that it will enable him to play DS roms on the slot-2 device he has. But I tell him the newer slot 1 cards have more capabilities, and they are better...(dumb me, playing devil's advocate with technology [​IMG] ). So now he wants to choose between two choices!

    Basically the choice is:
    - a more flexible slot-1 device (more expensive, but probably will last longer)
    - flash'me & buying a microSD for his slot-2 device
     
  2. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    just get a new slot 1 card they have excellent acekard from dealextreme not fakes for 13$ free shipping

    ps: get the acekard 2i not the 2.1 the 2i has better build quality :) kerry christmas
     
  3. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Better and safer just to get a new slot 1. AK2.1 is only 12$ and plays everything, even spirit tracks unpatched (with latest akaio).

    I would imagine slot 2 devices stopped being supported a while ago and would have compatibility issues, but thats just a guess on my part.
     
  4. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd go for a cheap slot 1 solution also. Something like an Acekard and AKAIO. Flashme can be risky if the battery dies, or you short it.
     
  5. astrangeone
    OP

    Member astrangeone GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Holy hell. I paid wayyyyy too much for my Acekard 2i. It was $50 Canadian from mygamingmart.com. I agree with both of you, hell, that was the main reason I updated to an Acekard 2i (from a shitty R4), the fact that most roms at the end of it's lifecycle were getting white/black screens.

    * Also, I've been flashme-ing for ages, the thing is usually plugged into a wall wart, but wouldn't it just be my luck to have a blown fuse/brownout/blackout when flashmeing?
     
  6. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    oh you have a 2i?
     
  7. astrangeone
    OP

    Member astrangeone GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I just asked for my cousin - who inherited both a DSL and a slot-2 flashcart. I can flashme his DS Lite and enable nds roms on his flashcart.

    Just asking - now I can tell him...other ppl on the internet say that he needs to get a slot 1 device.
     
  8. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Never had a problem after flashmeing my DSL and i'm using an AK2i. Great ~$13 dollars spent [​IMG].
     
  9. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    Just get an Acekard 2i. He'll love it.
     

Share This Page