Hacking Flashing acekard ON a 3ds?

shochuu

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
So, i'm looking into an Acekard 2i. Is it possible to flash the thing on a 3ds? I'm getting one with firmware that supports 3ds fresh out of the box, but say....Ninty updates the 3ds.

Does it update with Wifi automatically?

Say it releases an update that blocks my AceKard on 3ds. But, because i'm not connected to the internet, can I still update my flashcard to the (theoretical) newest firmware on 3ds?

..Basically want to know if I should sell my old DS or not.
 

MaxNuker

GBATemp's Official Shinigami Substitute
Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
619
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Portugal
Website
facebook.com
XP
183
Country
Portugal
well... if it works on the 3ds... as long as you flash it before updating the 3ds.. you wont have a problem... if you update the 3ds first your are screwed... and the wifi update thingy is only for the Firmware

firmware =/= bootloader,

boot loader is what you flash to the ak2i to bypass the updates of nintendo
firmware is what you use to boot into games, homebrew, etc
 

Nollog

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
2,964
Trophies
0
XP
1,324
Country
Ireland
PROTIP:
As long as the flashcart starts up and loads and boots and starts up and begins and works in your DS DS Lite DSi DSi XL 3DS, its bootloader can be updated.
If it doesn't run, it can not.
 

jurassicplayer

Completionist Themer
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
4,458
Trophies
0
Location
Pantsuland
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
2,025
Country
United States
MaxNuker said:
well... if it works on the 3ds... as long as you flash it before updating the 3ds.. you wont have a problem... if you update the 3ds first your are screwed... and the wifi update thingy is only for the kernel
kernel =/= firmware,
firmware is what you flash to the ak2i to bypass the updates of nintendo
kernel is what you use to boot into games, homebrew, etc
Fixed...You magically had everything shifted over a word and used a new placeholder.
 

koji2009

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
XP
197
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
Can someone actually answer the real question of the thread?
"Is it possible to flash a flashcart on the 3DS?"

well... if it works on the 3ds... as long as you flash it before updating the 3ds.. you wont have a problem... if you update the 3ds first your are screwed... and the wifi update thingy is only for the Firmware

firmware =/= bootloader,

boot loader is what you flash to the ak2i to bypass the updates of nintendo
firmware is what you use to boot into games, homebrew, etc

Reading is hard... especially the very first reply to the op.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,899
Country
United States
TehSkull said:
Can someone actually answer the real question of the thread?
"Is it possible to flash a flashcart on the 3DS?"I don't know if it's safe, neither do most people, that's why we posted about the question that lead to this question.

QUOTE(koji2009 @ Apr 10 2011, 06:02 PM) Reading is hard... especially the very first reply to the op.
That doesn't actually answer the question.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    lol
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    PS5 games are actually considerably smaller than PS4 games
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    better compression/optimization i guess
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    But it only has like 4 games :tpi:
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    what is something you can say about console homebrew but also in the bedroom
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Time to transfer files
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "it was so hard the first time"
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "Time to transfer files" bro having sex with robots
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly knowing ken that isn't that unbelievable
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    arent many ps5 exclusives it's true, but there are a whole lot of ps4 games that got ps5 upgrades
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and those have to be stored on one of the SSDs
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    "time to smash the stack"
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Uremum does like to call me dadbot
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nothing beats a midnight shower
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I'd say there would be more PS5 exclusives...if people could actually buy PS5s.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I mean, if no-one can buy a PS5, and thus is stuck with PS4 (Pros), then companies would still see some profit from developing PS4 games with PS5 upgrades; meanwhile, if they developed a PS5 game, then everyone who can't get that console won't buy that game, especially at launch.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nah every console starts early with low libraries
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    well theyre churning them out as fast as they possibly can, not like Xbox or PC are faring much better with the chip shortages
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and games still take 4-6 years to develop regardless, so its not like sony can conjure up new exclusives out of thin air
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Makes me wonder what they have now and are actually hiding from the public
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I hope in the next 5 years they can move on to even more realistic skin renders and not just make characters look like Shiney clay molds
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm waiting for the ultimate DLC, "The Most Dangerous Game".
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry:
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry: