final fantasy 8 on psp

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by anthony001, Sep 2, 2010.

Sep 2, 2010

final fantasy 8 on psp by anthony001 at 5:15 PM (1,049 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. anthony001
    OP

    Member anthony001 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Philippines
    i heard many that some users encounters freezes on this game is it true? cuz i really hate to do the whole chickhen all over again.
    can anyone guide me on the do's and don't or is there a better way to play this game on the psp?
     
  2. Mesiskope

    Banned Mesiskope Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Union Hotel
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is ture, I know that you shouldn't use any healing or attacking during boss battles. and if that fails turn off the psp drill a tiny hole through the psp....shit head.
     
  3. ragingchaosgod

    Member ragingchaosgod JUBILEUS QAAL OVOF VOMSARG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Country:
    Philippines
    Oh cmon, Mesiskope. Take it easy.

    Anyway... so far, I've heard people say Scan and Draw cause their PSP to freeze but I hear it's playable. Though... being unable to scan or draw kinda makes things kinda hella harder for me. XD;;
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a PSN version of this game out, right?
    If so, download the PSN version.

    No problems.
     
  5. ragingchaosgod

    Member ragingchaosgod JUBILEUS QAAL OVOF VOMSARG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Country:
    Philippines
    o.o really? PSN version had no problems? I saw some comments on the torrent site I use that they had the same problems... Should give that another look see!
     
  6. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Problem is, the PSN version is the one that causes the freezes.

    You can find some patched versions of FFVIII on the web, but ironically I haven't found any that get past the 'New Game' option properly.
     
  7. ragingchaosgod

    Member ragingchaosgod JUBILEUS QAAL OVOF VOMSARG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Country:
    Philippines
    DX Bargh. FF7 and 9 didn't have any problems.
     
  8. Leamonde.Halcyon

    Member Leamonde.Halcyon 6x9=42

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    6x9=42
    Country:
    United States
    There are versions converted from the psx isos that work quite a bit better. I had a set in single disc eboots where draw/scan worked just fine for me. I had the occasional random freeze but nothing that couldn't be dealt with by saving often. Search around and see what you can find.
     
  9. Madridi

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,424
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Guys, you seem to have alot of misinformation.
    - Yes, there is a PSN version
    - The PSN version works perfectly on 6.xx firmware. Since all CFW are 5.xx it will still have freezes
    - Reason for these freezes is that 5.xx modules are a bit buggy
    - I hear people recommending using a converted eboot instead of the PSN one so that you can keep choosing different versions of POPS with popsloader, but honestly I wasnt really bothered with that.
    - I'm playing the game now (5.00 M33-6, about 11 hours in), Draw has NO FREEZES. However casting some spells might freeze it (scan worked fine for me, but I only tried it one time, cure and its derivatives work fine, shell freezes .. 2 moves by all monsters I faces so far freezes it)


    So basically, if you have the patience for it. It's playable (at least it is playable up to this point)

    edit: damn, finally an unavoidable crash.. It crashes on Irvines introduction fmv [​IMG]
     
  10. Intimidator88

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    So i can play it on my psp if i update to the newest firmware and buy it off psn? Would i be able to go back to my custom firmware if i done this i got a pandora battery and 8 gig magic memory stick. If so how would i go about doing this?
     
  11. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's hackable, yes. Check the stickys.
    Way to bump a thread btw.
     

Share This Page