GCN file too fragmented?

Superfighter

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
375
Country
Israel
i posted this in wii homebrew forum because i didnt know the gc gbatemp forum exist lol...
my problem is every game i try to boot in swiss (i tried all the games i have) i get this message: invaild file (too fragmented?)
i tried diffrent sd cards micro sd cards and nothing work.. i tried fat32 and exfat with 32k allocation size and nothing works..
should i try another sd gecko or buy new sd card adapter to pc ? or should i try GCoS?
i use swiss in gamecube (not wii)
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
I'm a gamecube expert.
Swiss runs fine from every SD card / micro SD card on FAT32.
Your problem must be on your PC.

Can you post a picture of your SD card files and folders? And the ISO you are trying to load...
Can can you tell me how are you loading swiss??
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrCokeacola

Superfighter

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
375
Country
Israel
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_2.png


--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

in every sd card i have expet from the 2gb that has swiss and all stuff it looks like that
 

IC_

GBAtemp's 3DS fanatic
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
1,555
Trophies
1
Location
The Forest
XP
4,019
Country
Antarctica
I'm a gamecube expert.
Swiss runs fine from every SD card / micro SD card on FAT32.
Your problem must be on your PC.

Can you post a picture of your SD card files and folders? And the ISO you are trying to load...
Can can you tell me how are you loading swiss??
I had a microSD card that didn't work with any games and another one fixed the issues
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,457
Trophies
2
XP
10,992
Country
Germany
Oh… sad. I see you tried exFAT and it did not work for you. Already said it was a long shot… Process of elimination:
  • Different SDs from different manufacturers in different sizes → not likely a problem with all SDs
  • Reformatted multiple times →not likely a problem with the filesystem
=======================
  • Have you verified the images to be good dumps? Check the images after writing them onto an SD with a checksum tool like md5sum, crc32, sha1sum…
    • compare the checksums on your hardrive with those on the SDs and/or
    • with the data inside gc.dat
  • Try a different SD-reader/writer and/or a different computer like toxic9 already suggested
  • Can you load any gc homebrew apps from SD gecko with Swiss?
    • Trying a different SD-Gecko is a good idea just to make sure
    • Also try the other Memory Card slot (if not already done)

I had a microSD card that didn't work with any games and another one fixed the issues
That is my experience too. It took me a while to find an SD that fully works on the cube. And I can rule out all other possible causes of error like bad/fake/dying SD, bad reader, bad filesystem, problem with the computer as I checked all of this. None of the tested SDs made trouble on any other device than the good old cube.
I finally had success with exFAT which was kind of baffling.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Superfighter

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
375
Country
Israel
Oh… sad. I see you tried exFAT and it did not work for you. Already said it was a long shot… Process of elimination:
  • Different SDs from different manufacturers in different sizes → not likely a problem with all SDs
  • Reformatted multiple times →not likely a problem with the filesystem
=======================
  • Have you verified the images to be good dumps? Check the images after writing them onto an SD with a checksum tool like md5sum, crc32, sha1sum…
    • compare the checksums on your hardrive with those on the SDs and/or
    • with the data inside gc.dat
  • Try a different SD-reader/writer and/or a different computer like toxic9 already suggested
  • Can you load any gc homebrew apps from SD gecko with Swiss?
    • Trying a different SD-Gecko is a good idea just to make sure
    • Also try the other Memory Card slot (if not already done)


That is my experience too. It took me a while to find an SD that fully works on the cube. And I can rule out all other possible causes of error like bad/fake/dying SD, bad reader, bad filesystem, problem with the computer as I checked all of this. None of the tested SDs made trouble on any other device than the good old cube.
I finally had success with exFAT which was kind of baffling.

ok my problem solved
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtu.be/9mZug4fT8mM lol someone got triggered