FF 7 (PSX game) problems - or maybe just too noob to use POPsloader?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Raki, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Heya...

    I'm trying at the moment to boot up FF 7 for the PSX as EBoot image on my PSP using Popsloader from dark alex, but it just shows me a black screen after choosing "New Game" while being on Disc 1...I can still use the home button and the whole PSX emulator menu and quit back to the XMB...any way to fix that?
     
  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm suspecting the eboot you got is at fault.
    Try downloading another one.
     
  3. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Did you make the EBOOT? If so, did you make sure the Game ID was correct? And what firmware are you using with POPSLoader? Check this site for more info:

    PSX on PSP Compatibility List
     
  4. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Nah it's not selfmade....from Dark Alex' Blog I downloaded 3.80 M33 Popsloader Release 2
    I heard about this screen which let you choose the Popsloader version...I don't get that :/
     
  5. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    My advice would be to acquire the ISO's of the game (through whatever means) and make the EBOOTs yourself. Also, some guides:

    General Guide - Has a ton of info on PSP hacking, great as a reference.
    POPSLoader Guide - POPSLoader specific guide, quite detailed and has useful downloads.

    Those two guides should get you where you need. POPSLoader allows you to change what firmware is used on each individual PS1 EBOOT. Since the different firmwares have different compatibilities, this is a great feature to have. Use these guides and the compatibility list I posted above to get most games working. Hope this helps.

    P.S. I know FF7 works on PSP, I just finished it [​IMG] Once you get everything set up, use 3.52 to play it. Runs flawlessly (maybe some sound glitches in the FMV but that might just be me).
     
  6. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
  7. Prophet

    Member Prophet Resident Black Militant

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United States
    It's certainly not the image/eboot. This is a known problem. You need to use an older popsloader. You'll need to go through a bit of trouble for this, but it's worth it.

    Here's a good guide. http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/628073

    As far as which version of popsloader, go with 3.71 - it plays FF7 perfectly.
     
  8. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Check the TheGamersPress Compatibility List, 3.71 has a ton of problems. 3.52 runs it flawlessly.

    Also, you were both beaten by a few hours [​IMG]
     
  9. Prophet

    Member Prophet Resident Black Militant

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United States
     
  10. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    hm...I followed that guide and still don't get that Popsloader screen, which let me choose the popsloader version...
    I tried a other Image (Legacy of Kain - Soul Reaver) aswell and it gets a black screen after starting a new game too
     
  11. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok figured it out...It works if I delete my Music.prx plugin...
    is there no way, I could use both plugins?
     
  12. bearbrik

    Newcomer bearbrik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    i have 4.01 m33-2
    and i had the same problem
    so i ran popsloader under 3.71 and made a save

    then i put ran pops as 4.01 again and it ran the save fine.
    only played about 30 mins so far . but so far perfect
     
  13. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    popsloader isn't needed to run FF7 perfectly. FF7 runs perfectly in 4.01, no tinkering needed. That's how I'm playing it at the moment.
     
  14. SaiZou

    Member SaiZou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    i have a question, my psp just freezes at the pops version menu. i cannot press any buttons the only version of pops that works is original from flash
     
  15. Shyn

    Member Shyn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Read the POPSLoader guide posted earlier on, you need the proper files extracted from older version updates to be able to choose them from the POPSLoader menu.
     
  16. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
  17. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    I believe you only need the PRX for the version you need. Anyway, as it has been said, FF7 is working perfectly on 4.01.
     
  18. AishunBao

    Newcomer AishunBao Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    It runs perfectly in 4.01 if you pass the New Game FMV in Disc 1 with another pops. I've found that in my experience I couldn't start a new game with 4.01, but once I did get it going, I found that some sound effects were better in 4.01 than 3.71.
     

Share This Page