Factory Setup Mode Switch found by Reddit User!

QuazaRayy

OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
110
Trophies
0
Location
your mind.
XP
579
Country
United Kingdom
A reddit user by the name of boondar143 bought a Switch from Best Buy for their kids. On Christmas Day, they opened it and saw this screen:
v6dt0szkps641.jpg


This is apparently the updated Switch.
boondar143 said:
Bought it online from Best Buy on cyber Monday and had it shipped to the house. Went to set it up for the kids and this is what came up.

boondar was going to return it to the store but didn't when they got offers from homebrew developers to pay a lot of money to buy it.

It only took an hour for someone to offer them a price that they accepted and he sold it:
boondar143 said:
Thanks everyone for your insight and suggestions. Under normal circumstances I would have just returned this for a new one. I’m glad I didn’t do that. As several suggested, developers are interested in this unit. I’m working with someone who is active in the community and will benefit from having this in his/her hands. It looks like I will turn a nice profit and it will go to someone who will put it to good use. A win-win all made possible by you. Thanks.

It seems that Switch homebrew might be able to benefit from this and boondar's kids can get the Switch (or Switches) they wanted!
 
Last edited by QuazaRayy,

naxil

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
808
Trophies
0
XP
505
Country
Italy
Same story... Who remember the wii with the 2fish disc? And probably a ps3 with usb dongle comeback from recovery center with the piece of hw connected on it.... Tx have money and can offer that money directly to affiliated nintendo repair people around the world
 
  • Like
Reactions: SuzieJoeBob

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,261
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,310
Country
United States
Last edited by ZachyCatGames,

ChibiMofo

NPC Chibi-Robo for Wii needs a fan translation
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
420
Trophies
0
XP
1,609
Country
Canada
Doesn’t really matter.
I have a complete copy of a Switch factory firmware, there’s nothing too special that would allow for exploits or whatever afaict.

and yes, I know I’m late.
I for one am glad that you went through the hundreds of thousands of lines of debug code of the Switch firmware to confirm that "there's nothing too special that would allow for exploits or whatever." Where would the Switch CFW community be without folks like you?
 

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,261
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,310
Country
United States
I for one am glad that you went through the hundreds of thousands of lines of debug code of the Switch firmware to confirm that "there's nothing too special that would allow for exploits or whatever." Where would the Switch CFW community be without folks like you?
Bruh. package1 & package2 in factory firmware are byte for byte identical to retail.
Almost all system modules are also identical.
That just leaves manu and the testing applications.
If you were to take over & exploit one of the testing applications, you wouldn't get much more than browser hax, you'd still need additional exploits to actually achieve anything.
I guess SystemInitializer has BIS r/w permissions, so maybe you could dump some shit or something, but you can do that with userland homebrew, so...
And Manu doesn't have any crazy permissions

The testing applications ship with symbols and a debug SDK binary iirc, so I guess they'd be nice for REing, but not much else
 
Last edited by ZachyCatGames,

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,261
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,310
Country
United States
hmm does that mode care about fuses etc.?
Anti-downgrade fuse requirements are the same as whatever retail firmware a given factory firmware is based on.
The entire firmware is pretty much just retail, but with some titles removed, some debug settings enabled, and a bunch of factory testing titles added.

And you do need a valid prodinfo to boot, and they cannot generate a valid prodinfo.
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
9,039
Trophies
1
XP
10,384
Country
Sweden
Anti-downgrade fuse requirements are the same as whatever retail firmware a given factory firmware is based on.
The entire firmware is pretty much just retail, but with some titles removed, some debug settings enabled, and a bunch of factory testing titles added.

And you do need a valid prodinfo to boot, and they cannot generate a valid prodinfo.
Oh well, sounds like it isn't really useful for anything then.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/THrBdLQ