EZ Vi with EZ 3in1 problem

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Blazekid3, Jan 16, 2010.

Jan 16, 2010

EZ Vi with EZ 3in1 problem by Blazekid3 at 3:02 PM (1,163 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Blazekid3
    OP

    Member Blazekid3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Twilight Town
    Country:
    Greece
    Well i have a EZ 3in1(in normal mode) and a EZ Vi well i was playing super mario bros 3 and i didn t play it for 2 days after i play it again it said data is corrupted what is the problem ??? [​IMG]
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,810
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You either got a bad rom or you didn't patch it correctly.
     
  3. Blazekid3
    OP

    Member Blazekid3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Twilight Town
    Country:
    Greece
    why some roms need patch to save ??? they save but after i play them again it says data is corupted
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,810
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Because they are not supported save types in loaderless modes like those in GEPs.
     
  5. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Depending on which kernel you use you don't have to patch your GBA roms.
    The kernel does this job automatically when you flash the game in NOR or PSRAM.

    So which kernel version do you use on your EZVi ?
     
  6. Blazekid3
    OP

    Member Blazekid3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Twilight Town
    Country:
    Greece
    I am using The latest Kernel
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds like the rom was SRAM patched with GBATA or some other old SRAM patcher. GBA games that use 128KB saves (like SMB3 and Pokeyman) actually hold two copies of the save data. GBATA patches them to use 64KB saves (because this is what old GBA flashcarts supported) which is enough to hold one of the two saves and save properly, but because one of the saves is missing you get the corrupt data error every time the game starts, even though it still loads your save.

    Try it with a clean rom, or just deal with the error message.
     
  8. Blazekid3
    OP

    Member Blazekid3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Twilight Town
    Country:
    Greece
    where i can find the GBATA and what it is???
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    GBA Tool Advance is a program that applies various hacks and patches to GBA roms. Scroll up, click "downloads" and search for "GBATA" if you want it. Keep in mind that I said I think it caused the problem, not that it will fix it.
     
  10. Blazekid3
    OP

    Member Blazekid3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Twilight Town
    Country:
    Greece
    ok thanks for your help
     
  11. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    So kernel 2.0 RC10.
    In that case only use clean GBA roms and delete the content of /GBADATA folder so the kernel will re-do the saver patch process. [​IMG]

    Also if you can, check the battery voltage inside the ez 3in1. This battery keeps data from SRAM memory where saves are stored (PSRAM and NOR mode saves).
     
  12. Blazekid3
    OP

    Member Blazekid3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Twilight Town
    Country:
    Greece
    ok thanks Mbmax [​IMG]
     

Share This Page