1. EZ-Flash2

    OP EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    China
    No problem, you can feel free to test, positive feedback you can even reply directly in this thread, leave the negative to me.
     
  2. Olly C

    Olly C Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Okay, well only positive feedback so far...

    The firmware update went smoothly, I haven't had any speed or hanging issues, I'm using a 32GB SanDisk Ultra A1 10 card.

    I first tested a game I owned the original cart for which was Tetris Plus, the border and custom colours loaded fine.

    Then I tried Donkey Kong which is one of the most significant difference SGB enhanced games, worked fine too.

    Then I tried Street Fighter 2 which changes border between each stage, that worked fine too.

    The cart loads using the same as usual, one cartridge button reset press to pop the Super Game Boy logo, then a second to load the flash cart.

    Saves seem to work fine as well still, a single cartridge reset press and it restarts the EZ Flash Junior and saves.

    Then the final thing I wanted to test was Space Invaders which has the SGB exclusive full Arcade game on the Game Boy cart that gets pushed to the SNES itself via the SGB, this was the thing I was least optimistic about because I'd watched a video before where a different flash cart didn't allow it, but it works fine! Pushes the Arcade Space Invaders game to the Super NT and plays fine too

    IMG_20210104_225152.jpg IMG20210104225450.jpg

    An example of King of Fighters with the regular firmware:

    IMG20210104223559.jpg

    And then with the SGB Beta firmware:

    IMG20210104223542.jpg

    Some of the Street Fighter stages:

    received_734455514142798.jpeg
    IMG20210104214741.jpg IMG20210104221420.jpg IMG20210104223004.jpg
     
    kerobscure, swutch, bbsan2k and 2 others like this.
  3. JosephNeale

    JosephNeale GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is it possible to sort the file/roms to A-Z and hide the mac (._) when copying roms from a mac
     
    Last edited by JosephNeale, Jan 15, 2021
  4. EZ-Flash2

    OP EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    China
    about remove macOS autogenerated file. you can download the CleanMyDrive 2 from Mac Appstore for free. it can remove any autogenerated files when you ejecting your SD card.
     
    zfreeman and JosephNeale like this.
  5. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,640
    Country:
    United States
    Nope use a toc app like fat sort
     
  6. realtimesave

    realtimesave GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    I tried this and I have to tap reset on the cart 3 times to get it to work, kinda gay if you ask me. lol
     
  7. Mugen_rvlp

    Mugen_rvlp Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    Hello i've bought an EZflash Jr few days ago, I can't make it boot
    stuck on MicroSD initial error

    Try firmware 4 / 5 / 4-13 test / 4-20 test
    on GBA / GBA SP / GB Dmg

    same problem, have you got any clues to unlock the situation please ?
    Sandisk 32Gb formatted FAT32 in 32kb size allocation
    Same with a 64gb Transcend
     
    Last edited by Mugen_rvlp, Jan 16, 2021
  8. ez80a

    ez80a Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Poland
    Do not use 64GB uSD card, only 4-32GB.

    Use some tool to zero-fill/repartition uSD card and format again as FAT32, 32k cluster.
    (I've used dmde and windows console tool called diskpart for doing these tasks. Beware: Check twice what you're doing with these - you may accidentally erase wrong disk :P)

    After all... Put as first file ezgb.dat and some rom known to be working in emulator and try again.

    Be sure to use fresh, branded batteries or bench supply, if you have one.
     
  9. Mugen_rvlp

    Mugen_rvlp Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for the reply, on windows i've downloaded and use SD Card Formatter, and it works !
     
  10. victoriemini

    victoriemini Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Brazil
    I've done some interesting fixes on top of the latest update, i'm creating a thread right now listing them, maybe you want to check it out =]
     
    bbsan2k likes this.
  11. kirbyhammer_7

    kirbyhammer_7 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there, I just ordered my EZ Flash Junior and will start using it by the end of this month. I plan to play *lots* of Pokemon Crystal, and other games. With that said, should I use FW4 or FW5_7-31?

    Reading older posts on here it seems that the clock gets off by just a little bit, just a minute or so every 12 days, which really won't bother me, but it is unclear if that is on FW4 or if that was fixed in FW5. Are there any disadvantages to using FW5? If not, I will probably just use that. If the clock is only off by that little amount though on FW4, I can totally just use FW4.

    Additionally, I see some people saying Class 4 cards are slower, but others saying that the Class 4 cards are just fine. I intend to use the same Class 4 4GB Toshiba card (from a New 3DS) that other people here have verified as working, but should I drop a couple bucks on a Class 10 so I don't have to worry about it?

    Any thoughts? Thank ya
     
  12. DrunkenMonk

    DrunkenMonk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't attempt to use a class 4 with FW5, issues with speed are apparent with that FW. The clock function changed pretty dramatically between FW4 and FW5, but FW4 should be stable for standard crystal/gold/silver, the only issues are encountered with advanced usage of RTC, such as Pokemon Prism


    short version: your 4gb class 4 card should work fine and you should use FW4
     
    kirbyhammer_7 likes this.
  13. kirbyhammer_7

    kirbyhammer_7 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Good to know! Thanks for the help. I will use FW4 and just re-adjust the clock as needed until a stable FW5 is up and I get a class 10.
     
  14. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,975
    Country:
    United States
    Is FW5 released yet? If it is, I don't know where to snag it.
     
  15. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,640
    Country:
    United States
    Not final and official site
     
    Jayro likes this.
  16. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,975
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks. I'll wait for the final stable release, as I'm already running the RC.
     
  17. kirbyhammer_7

    kirbyhammer_7 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Just got my Game Boy Color (CGB-001), atomic purple, and the flash cart doesn't work. I'm far enough out too I may not be able to return it, and I am livid.

    I have:
    Reformatted the SD and retried copying the FW files (like ten times)
    Tried FW4 and FWRC5
    Tried cleaning the cartridge and the system
    Made a "SAVER" file on the root

    I am:
    Using a CGB-001
    Using a Toshiba 4GB Micro SDHC that was confirmed working by others here.

    I also tried a Lexar 32GB class 10, to no avail.

    The system only boots to the "Game Boy" screen, and only has the (R), not the Nintendo logo. If it wasn't detecting the cartridge at all it would just show a black bar where the Nintendo logo would be, so it should be detecting the cart fine.

    Any way to fix this?
     
    Last edited by kirbyhammer_7, Feb 6, 2021
  18. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,975
    Country:
    United States
    How was the SD card formatted?

    I used the default formatter in Windows, with FAT32 and a 64KB cluster size, and it works wonders.
     
    kirbyhammer_7 likes this.
  19. kirbyhammer_7

    kirbyhammer_7 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm I appreciate the suggestion. I could be mistaken, but I don't see a 64KB cluster size option for FAT32, are you referring to FAT?

    EDIT: I was using FAT32 32kb cluster before. Gonna try FAT because why not, will update you.
     
    Last edited by kirbyhammer_7, Feb 6, 2021
    Jayro likes this.
  20. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,975
    Country:
    United States
    It's very likely that I may have gotten the two mixed up, but yeah. Keep me posted. I have more suggestions we can try later if it doesn't work.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - TestFlight, Junior, FLASH