End game?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hamzie, Feb 26, 2009.

Feb 26, 2009

End game? by hamzie at 3:49 PM (2,268 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    I hate those people who read those warning signs (about your wii being bricked if you dont use the apps. properly) and still proceed because they go ..ye ye.. i know what im doing

    well i have just become one of those people [​IMG]


    when i found out my jap wii can be converted to a pal one.. i got so excited...!

    i followed this guide which told me to use these apps

    /apps/cios37/boot.dol
    /apps/downgrader/boot.dol
    /apps/region_changer/boot.dol
    /apps/anyregion_changer/boot.dol
    /apps/channelremover/bool.elf
    / IOS37-64-v2070.wad

    blah blah so i did everything that was asked and i got what i wanted and followed this


    Go to Wii Setting, select update Wii in page 3, wait for it to complete. After restart the Wii, go to page 3,
    select Language is English and Country is Australia. Click OK for the User Agreement. Everything will
    be in English, even News and Forecast channel now were return.

    i then downgraded my wii to 3.2E because.. well.. i thought it'd make things easier

    i then realized that my discs werent being read .. i thought it'd be because of my wiikey being set to 1.9s JAP

    i inserted the wiikey 1.9s PAL.. but again not being read

    config disc.. read... but i think after i click start.. the wii turns off.. i mean the green light is there.. but the tv just says COMPONENT CHANNEL..

    so then i go ahh maybe i should convert it back to jap... and then update it

    i convert it back to jap.. still not working

    only gamecube game types (like the wiikey config disc) were being read..

    then... probably my biggest mistake

    i go Ahhhhh LETS FORMAT THE WII.. ill start over

    ... format

    instead of starting all over i have been formatted to 3.2E

    homebrew channel is gone... i cant install it because disc isnt being read.. i tried auto boot on the hbc iso and that didnt work

    again only those gamecube type discs are being read.. but same problem with the config disc

    so.. after all that.. is it game over?

    any chance to fix my massive screw up??

    Thank you for atleast reading this long story of mine [​IMG]
     


  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    I think someone had this problem last night... Try removing any GC memory cards and controllers.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm afraid you'll have to find a PAL Twilight princess game
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Wouldn't a AnyRegionChanger PAL homebrew dvd help?
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    well if you are at 3.2 that means you can run the homebrew_channel_installer.iso wich can be downloaded at the official page, but don't get why the people get these problem, there was one guy who already post this about not being able to read his games, why..?? dunno..!! [​IMG]
     
  6. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Try using the default cable and not the component cable when starting games.
     
  7. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    ive already tried switching the cables

    didnt work

    i dont have any gc items.. the only memory card attached is the sd one
     
  8. Stephanie

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. Same day as me.

    Sorry, hammie-Z [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  9. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    will a preloader get me any where?
     
  10. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,765
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    yea you can use it to boot the hbc dol no?
     
  11. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    but to run preloader i need hbc [​IMG]

    since only discs that boot up as GC are being read.. are there any hbc isos which boot up as gc?

    or there is a hbc .dol file for installation

    any software which can boot .dol files so i can install hbc
     
  12. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Wouldn't be possible as far as I know cause when yout boot a GC game it disables all non-GC related hardware like the SD slot, usb ports, bluetooth and infrared
     
  13. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    the most annoying part is the config disc not loading properly [​IMG]
     
  14. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
  15. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Ever tried the rescue/recovery disc? Those are not region coded so they should work...

    http://www.eurasia.nu/modules.php?name=New...le&sid=2040

    ps: probably hamzie changed the game region to pal which now clashes with the chip's ntsc-j region... and used the standard anyregion changer which doesn't introduce any game region patching into the system menu... can you confirm hamzie?
     
  16. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    yes i was just trying the rescue disk.. doesnt work.. weird but the wiikey 1.9s disk doesnt work either

    u think getting a new wiikey modchip for pal consoles will fix this?

    ive tried original ntsc-j and pal games .. they dont work
    tried burnt as well..

    yes i used anyregion changer to make it pal.. then i used the downgrader to make the firmware an E one instead of J one
     
  17. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to hear your troubles.

    Not much of an expert on this but was wondering......

    If you remove the modchip, does the Wii load original discs ?

    If we could eliminate modchip failure as a reason to not boot up discs it may give some of the softmod guru's a clearer picture perhaps ?

    Anyway, hope someone helps you fix it soon
     
  18. hamzie
    OP

    Newcomer hamzie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    thx ramboz

    but i think the originals should still load even if the modchip was screwed up

    im trying jinx's solution right now.. if it doesnt work might as well try remove the chip

    edit

    the wad manager doesnt load [​IMG]



    if one of you copy HBC to an sd card.. and say u put sd card in pc... and transfer that hbc channell.. i download it.. put it in my sd blah blah

    will thta work
    ?
     
  19. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    No that will not work because the ticket or something makes that file correspond only to that person's Wii that it came from. If you can get some kind of WAD Manager to work though, that is a wad of the HBC someone posted on the last page.
     
  20. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Your wii will not load any wii discs period.
    Because, your modchip patches every wii disc you insert to region ntsc-j and since your system menu is configured to use pal discs (game region in anyregion changer)

    Solutions are various, the only solution that you can do without assist with another drive is
    1. Desoldering the modchip
    2. Using original zelda to install homebrew channel (pal one)
    3. Changing the game region to ntsc-j
    4. Resoldering the modchip, now your chip will function as normal... you can use it's config discs and stuff to configure it to pal region, then you can change the game region of the system menu with anyregion changer...

    I don't think desoldering and soldering the modchip is a good idea, if I were you I would have bought a flatmii, hook my wii to my pc and install homebrew channel and do the steps 3,4 without doing any soldering/desoldering.... Alternatively you can use a pal configured modded drive or an unmodded drive to do the job...

    The simplest is flatmii I think, you can sell it later with some $5-$10 less value... you don't need to fully mod your wii with flatmii, you can do the job while your wii's guts are open... after you install homebrew channel you're done with that..
     

Share This Page