Dynasty Warriors = lot `o' filler?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by GeekyGuy, Jul 26, 2007.

Jul 26, 2007
  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    When de-compressed, it's a fairly sizeable file at 128MB. I put it in the trimmer, and was getting a tad nervous because it never takes quite so long for a ROM to trim. Some time goes by, and voila'! Fifty-nine megs of fat trimmed off of that sucker. What could they possibly have put on that thing? [​IMG]
     
  2. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    So the game is actually 69MB... which is too big to fit in a 64MB cartridge, so they had to put it in the next highest cartridge, 128MB. 59MB of it is actually empty space.
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I've a feeling that ASH (Archaic Sealed Heat), which is supposed to be the first 256meg cart will be about the same way.

    Watch it trim to around 150.
     
  4. loathsome

    Member loathsome GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    N3DSXL
    Country:
    Australia
    Exactly [​IMG]

    Thank God for trimming. I can trim FF3 from 128MB to about 90MB as well.
     
  5. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, Ray...

    Yeah, it surely will be interesting to see just how much of that cart they make use of. Either way, I've got a feeling that that particular game is gonna clog a lotta sites. It's been an incredible wait for it...

    Anyhoo, I'm gonna give DW a try later this evening, but I can't say I have high hopes for the game.
     
  6. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm glad its still so small, I hate to have games that are more then 100 MB, I only have 1 GB [​IMG]
     
  7. NiGHtS

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    I feel sorry for those who don't trim the ROM but just put it onto their card.
     
  8. Fadakar

    Newcomer Fadakar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    What trimmer do you guys use? [​IMG]
     
  9. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
  10. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    RSAtrim 1.2

    I found it posted over in the TeamCyclops forum. Seems to work well.
     
  11. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    are u persian?
     
  12. loathsome

    Member loathsome GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    N3DSXL
    Country:
    Australia
    trim! It's so darned small in size and easy to use, it's a joy!
     

Share This Page