DSTWO problem..

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by iTStorm, Feb 9, 2013.

Feb 9, 2013

DSTWO problem.. by iTStorm at 6:31 PM (1,866 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    I don't know what happened, but apparently, on my old DS Lite, it shows up like this:

    [​IMG]

    on my 3DS though, it shows up properly.

    [​IMG]

    Sorry if the pics are bad quality.. + my 3ds has a lot of dust on it o.O + my DS lite is seriously dirty... but then again, it's like 8 years old...

    So... has anyone else experienced this problem?
     
  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    sounds like the pins inside the DSLite card slot could use a clean
    get some compressed air and blast a little in the slot to clean it
     
  3. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Don't think that's the issue, since I vaccuum cleaned the DS Lite card slot around 2-3 months ago, and I pretty much don't use my DS anymore since I have a 3DS..
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    do normal DS games work fine on it
    maybe the graphical card in the console going
    hence why the images arnt displaying and you only see text
     
  5. TCRe

    Member TCRe Bright Studios

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try cleaning the contacts on your DSTwo, I know it works on your 3DS but might work either way if your not using your DS anymore who cares
     
  6. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Nope, not the problem.

    [​IMG]

    ^ on my Acekard 2i

    [​IMG]

    On a normal DS flashcart - Pokemon Platinum

    [​IMG]

    If that picture helps you, those are the carts I tried + the DSTWO.
     
  7. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    [​IMG]

    Sorry for doubleposting, but editing the post doesn't bump the topic so yeah :/

    Anyways, as in the picture above, now when I boot the DS Lite with the DS cartridge inside, it freezes, but with another DS cart, like Pokemon Platinum (original retail cart), it works fine. I can't test with another DS Lite either :/
     
  8. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    If it's freezing like that it's likely having contact issues with the pins in the DS Lite. I'd recommend the paper trick but that's going to make it a pain in the ass to get it out of the 3DS, most likely. Look inside your cart slot with a flash light, does it look like any of the pins are bent or pushed closer to the inner wall of the cart slot than others?

    The freezing like that would indicate that it's losing contact with the cart shortly after booting.
     
  9. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Hmm... But a retail cart works.. so I don't think there's a problem with that :/

    By the way, the MicroSD is a Transcend 8GB Class 2 SDHC.
     
  10. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a known problem that some flashcards have shorter contacts than commercial cards (I have problems with the AK2i in a DSLite but it's fine in the DS and 3DS)
    & it's also known that the DSLite was built also with shorted contacts than it's predecessor (I can't be bothered to find the posts for reference ;P )

    It could be that under certain conditions you may end up with two items (card & Game system) with short contacts that only JUST touch & yet work OK

    Copper tracks also wear down slightly especially if the card is constantly being Inserted & taken out - so the contact between the 2 will progressively get worse..
    Perhaps this is whats happened to you ??
     
  11. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    This is probably my problem.. Is there any solution to it, other than buying a new flashcard?

    Also, will the copper tracks wear down slightly on the cart, or the contacts, or both?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  13. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    So I should open up my DS and press on the card slot? Or where else should I press? I'm just keeping my DS Lite for upgrading firmwares, since it's preferred to update it on a DS Lite... If there isn't a solution, I'll probably just risk it and update it on a 3DS.. and probably sell my DS Lite, (might do a shell replacement since it's so dirty)
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Try opening up the DSTwo and putting a slip of paper behind the contacts.
     
    Sicklyboy likes this.
  15. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Updating on a 3DS is fine as long as you make sure you update the card before the system itself is updated.

    The beautiful thing about the DSTWO though is that even if the card is no longer launchable (on a 3DS for example) is that if you do happen to update the console before the card, it is (to this point, at least) still able to be updated. The firmware file needs to be renamed a certain way and then let the card sit on the "A problem has occured..." screen for a few minutes. Power off, delete the file, turn it back on and launch it.

    I can't say that this will always be possible but this is the only card to date that I know of that had this capability.

    Anyway as far as I can think, you could try popping the back of the shell off and sliding a few thick pieces of paper underneath the cartridge slot between that and the motherboard, but I'm not sure how easy it would be to do or how well it would work. I'd be more inclined to try the paper trick before anything else, but would take the paper slip out of the cartridge before putting it back in the 3DS since it currently works as is.
     
  16. boombox

    Member boombox GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    the World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not adding anything useful about your card, but here's a tip - clean your DS, because holy shit that is screaming for a damn good clean! It's actually germ-utopia there. O______o
     
  17. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Dirt != Germs.

    Also, the DS Lite housing is quite matte compared to any other DS housing except for the DSi, and holds dirt like a bitch.
     
    boombox likes this.
  18. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Haha, yeah.. I'm planning to sell it, but I'm going to clean it before I do, or just do a shell replacement.

    + I don't use it anymore since I got my 3DS, it's just been sitting there collecting dust.
     
  19. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Ah wait i remember how to stop freezing

    turn Autoboot cartridge offon the DS Menu settings
     
  20. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    I don't think I have autoboot set to ON in the DS Menu settings, but I'll take a look and edit this post.

    EDIT: Turned it on and tried it, it didn't detect the cart. Turned it off and tried it, and now, it doesn't even freeze. It straights up doesn't detect the cart.
     

Share This Page