DSTwo GBA Button Issue

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by rubejb, May 10, 2011.

May 10, 2011

DSTwo GBA Button Issue by rubejb at 6:51 PM (1,241 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. rubejb
    OP

    Newcomer rubejb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I know that it has been established that the Supercard team is aware of the bug in their GBA emulator that stops you from remapping the B button. But since it seems to take forever for them to update their software, would it be easy for someone to create an alternate version of it?

    I ask this because I see that CATSFC seems to be a modified version of the official DSTwo SFC program (although perhaps I'm wrong on that).

    Thanks!
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Unlike the SNES one, we don't have the source.
     
  3. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    basically what Rydian said, and plus they screwed up game compatibility with version 1.30 so all newer version probably won't work with it either, i imagine to keep the current compatibility we'll be on 1.21 w/ game_config.txt forever

    and i remember seeing somewhere that the source won't be released because darkchen, the creator of the original emulator (which got ported to the DS2 in the form of NDSGBA) will not let team Supercard release it

    so basically you'll never be able to remap the B button (muhahahahahahaha)
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    There's no point in remapping it anyway.
     
  5. ferret7463

    Member ferret7463 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Country:
    United States
    Ummm yes there is, if you put the "B" button where the "Y" is then it makes a whole lot easier to play action games . The current set up is only good for RPGs . If i want to play metroid for the GBA i have to use my PSP .
     
  6. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been playing Metroid Zero Mission on the DSTwo emulator and I was fine with the default settings.
    I'll have you know the A and B buttons are placed in a similar manner on the original GBA as well.
     
  7. rubejb
    OP

    Newcomer rubejb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    What works fine for one person doesn't necessarily work for another.

    Back in the day of the original Xbox, before they redesigned those horrible massive controllers, my friends and I used to play DOA3 a lot. I would always have to remap the buttons to fit the way I played. Essentially what I was doing was changing the buttons so each one was rotated (clockwise I believe) one button over.

    Two of my friends argued that this didn't make sense while another one was on my side.

    For the DS It feels natural to put the pad of my thumb on the Y button and hit B with the underside knuckle part for games like Mario where you're running and jumping. Using the default A and B buttons just feels awkward.

    I guess it's really silly to argue about it since it's already been stated that:

    1) A custom version of the GBA emulator isn't possible since the source isn't released.

    2) It probably won't be updated for a long time if ever.
     

Share This Page