DSTT savfile not founded!

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by docedog, Oct 24, 2008.

Oct 24, 2008

DSTT savfile not founded! by docedog at 9:30 PM (5,213 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. docedog
    OP

    Newcomer docedog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I have loaded my new DSTT and am having some file issues. Sometimes I get "[Rom loading failed] savefile not founded! Please reset system" (founded is not my typo that's what it displays). I have another DSTT card I have been using for about 6 months with no problems. When I put the Micro SD in my old DSTT it works fine so its not an issue with it. Also, a few times it has erased everything in the Micro SD. I have reformated and loaded the card with just the operating files first and then the games as I have seen some posts on doing it that way, no help. I started out using V1.15 and also tried some older releases with no change. Anyone have an idea?
     
  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Does the ROM in question have a filename with 8 characters or fewer and at least one space?

    -Bri
     
  3. docedog
    OP

    Newcomer docedog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    No, nothing that small. All the ROMs have spaces though and I have been using them in my other DSTT fine.
     
  4. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    United States

    ahhh, I knew this error was file-name related. I just hadn't worked out what exactly what.

    I'll start sticking in underscores instead spaces from now on. though usually i fire up y's.nds and delete the dodgy save file and let y's create it instead for the few times I have had this error.
     
  5. grout

    Newcomer grout Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I get this all the time. After anywhere from 1 to 10 hard resets, the error stops
    and all is well (no actual game-saving issues either). I've tried short filenames
    without spaces, and long filenames with underscores instead of spaces, to no
    avail. Root folder or subfolder, the error still happens.

    Both of my 2G microSDs are formatted using FAT, and I've checked the filesystems
    numerous times for errors w/none found.
     
  6. docedog
    OP

    Newcomer docedog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    So is it a bad DSTT then? I can take the SD and put it in my older DSTT and it works fine.
     
  7. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    If the same microSD card works in a different DSTT without changing anything, that's pretty good evidence of a bad DSTT. You should contact the store you bought it from and try to exchange it for a new one. Make sure if you get a new one that it's a real DSTT and not a fake (see http://www.ndstt.com/en/anti_fake.html).

    -Bri
     
  8. the_skdster

    Member the_skdster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Canada
    Is your MicroSD card FULL?
    Filling it to the brim with ROMs will not leave enough space to create new .sav files when you start other new games.

    Always leave 50megs of free space for good measure.
     
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Good point, the_skdster. Also make sure that your .nds and .sav files are in a sub-folder (e.g. a "games" folder) and not on the root. There is a limit to the number of files that can be at the root of your microSD card.

    Although either problem can cause errors due to not being able to create a proper save file, I would think that if either of these were the case and was causing the errors it would happen on any DSTT and the author of the OP indicated that he didn't get the errors on his older DSTT.

    -Bri
     

Share This Page