DSLinux

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Skyline969, Jan 24, 2009.

Jan 24, 2009

DSLinux by Skyline969 at 1:50 AM (2,070 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, so DSLinux has piqued my interest. But I have one problem - how the hell do I get it to work on my M3 Real? What do I download and how do I install/use it? If someone could help me and let me know how to use it, the potential hazards, etc, I would appreciate it.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Rockscod

    Newcomer Rockscod Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Did you Flash it?
     
  3. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need to flash your DS if you use a M3 Real, that I know.
     
  4. Rockscod

    Newcomer Rockscod Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I'll be honest and just say that I don't know much about it. Other then the fact I have a iTouch and runs Linux just fine (On a flashed ds).
     
  5. Morgawr

    Member Morgawr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Italy
    To me (R4 non-flashed DS firmware 1.18) I just downloaded the .nds and put it in the folder :\
     
  6. sconethief

    Member sconethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    umm try using DSorganize to run it =/ It usually works for me...
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Download the DLDI build, uncompress it (7zip works well), and copy the "dslinux.nds" file and "linux" folder to your card.

    You probably won't get too far without slot-2 RAM, but worry about that after you get it running in the first place.

    The DSLinux Wiki would be the best place to start if you have questions.
     
  8. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, this is the best advice I've gotten so far. So the files are almost all tarballs (.tar.gz)... will WinRAR decompress those?
     
  9. gamefreak3o3

    Newcomer gamefreak3o3 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yes WinRAR will decompress them. Did you try before you asked, or did you want to be sure?
     
  10. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I just wanted to be sure. I'll take a look at DSLinux right away.
     

Share This Page