DSi incompatible with existing flash carts?

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, Oct 31, 2008.

Oct 31, 2008
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] DSi incompatible with existing flash carts? *UPDATE*
    Early reports suggest just that

    [​IMG]
    Reports are flying in this morning that the new DSi handheld is incapable of booting existing flash carts. Our friend ahtin at Hacken.cc who has got his hands on a brand new DSi, has tested both the popular R4 DS and EZ Flash V.

    ahtin has reported that the R4 DS (an auto-booting slot-1 cart), when inserted into the DSi, in fact does NOT automatically boot up, and fails to appear at all in the new revamped DSi main menu (which is normal behaviour for an auto-booting cart). The EZ Flash V on the other hand (a non auto-booting slot-1 cart), does in fact show in the DSi's main menu, but when launched generates an error which prevents it from loading any further.

    Whether or not the new flash cart "prevention" on the DSi can be disabled or worked around is yet to be determined. Once more people get their hands on the new Nintendo handheld revision, we'll undoubtedly learn more about why this is happening. Perhaps it could be something as simple as an update in the carts loader/firmware (at least in the case of the EZ-V), or perhaps something a modified firmware (ala. FlashMe) could fix. But of course, only time will tell.

    Hacken.cc have not reported results on any other flash kits. Stay tuned to GBAtemp for any further news, as we'll keep you posted on any developments.

    UPDATE!: ahtin has informed me personally of his latest tests. Unfortunately it's not good news! Just take a look at the long list of flash carts that have ALSO FAILED on the DSi...

    CycloDS - Failed
    G6 DS Real - Failed
    M3 DS Real - Failed
    Supercard DS One - Failed
    iTouch DS - Failed
    FCard - Failed
    NCard - Failed
    M3 DS Simply - Failed
    U2DS - Failed

    Also, importers please note that there is no English language option in the firmware - only Japanese, so be careful!

    [​IMG] Discuss
    [​IMG] ahtin's original thread
    [​IMG] Original discussion at Hacken.cc (Chinese)

    Thanks to ahtin at Hacken.cc for the news.
     


  2. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I'm sure they'll come up with a way to hack it *hopefully*
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, me too. It will just take some time [​IMG]

    And someone test the CycloDS!
     
  4. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Naw I would like to know more details about so called 'features' of DSi....I have DSphat for Flashcarts and I knew that DSi would be incompatible...
     
  5. Mei-o

    Member Mei-o Generic Asian Kidâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Somewherewherewhere
    Country:
    Japan
    There goes more sales Nintendo!
     
  6. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ha!

    I knew something like this would happen. I'm not going to say "hopfully they will solve this issue" considering I ain't going to get a DSi because it is a waste of money.
     
  7. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Well, this is surely bad news.....Now the only question that remains is.....does CycloDS works, because he has a slightly different booting method, and many people are raising their hopes in it!
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Five pretend moneys say the Evo doesn't work either.
     
  9. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah I think thay will solve the issue in few days/weeks....It has SD card slot dammit! I'm sure they are cracking it right now...
     
  10. DAZA

    Member DAZA Shaun's Mum

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Time is the factor here, somthing will be done about it, its not like all slot 1 manuafactures are going to stop production or give up R+D just because of that small stumbling block, i give it 3-5 months from official release date of the DSi
     
  11. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Love the image for the news post! [​IMG]


    Also, while I could be WAY off, I do believe that if this is indeed protection, that could be what is causing issues like this:
     
  12. Jackreyes

    Jackreyes Newbie

    News like this, along with the price tag,
    makes the DSi incompatible with me.
     
  13. nivrae

    Newcomer nivrae Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if something like this would happen. I'm not too worried though, we'll have a workaround eventually. I'm also curious as to see if the CycloDS will be able to boot on the DSi. I wasn't aware it had a different booting method than the other flash cards. Does this go the same for the Edge card since it is a CycloDS clone?
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Any solution will likely require new flashcarts or a hack for the DSi firmware. AFAIK, most (all?) flashcarts do not allow the bit of code that boots them up to be overwritten, so this could not be fixed by an update to the flashcart's software.
     
  15. mrchew

    Banned mrchew Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    since the DSi has region lock they should try a Japanese flashcart
     
  16. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    There is nor region lock for games!
     
  17. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's as I heard then......


    Seems I heard the DSi uses a digital signature of some sort to allow games to work. Newer DS games will contain this signature. The old DS's don't look for this, so games will work anyway.

    Old DS games are just on a whitelist in the DSi firmware to allow them to work.

    Possibly, games that are reported to have issues running on the DSi may be because they are missing on the whitelist.

    Obviously, no flashcarts will ever be on the whitelist....unless they are hacked in to the firmware.

    Or some such blah-blah like that.

    I swear I read that on THIS forum somewhere. [​IMG]
     
  18. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    More specifically, only DSiWare will be region locked.
     
  19. mrchew

    Banned mrchew Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    DSi software (software that is only compatible with DSi) is region locked, eg: European DSi software can only be played on European DSi consoles... Nintendo DS software however is region free so you can play any DS software on DSi from any region. You can also browse the Internet on your DSi wherever you are in the world and exchange your photos with friends from around the world... DSi is region locked because DSi embeds net communication functionality within itself and we are intending to provide net services specifically tailored for each region. Also because we are including parental control functionality for Nintendo DSi and each region has its unique age limit made by different independent. kotaku.com
     
  20. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    That's the reason why testing Japan flashcart would have the same result as the english one..There is nor region lock..
     

Share This Page