1. Indy13

    Indy13 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    France
    To fix the savegame issue, you should try to put a copy of your dsdoom.nds file to the root of your sd with the other files of dsdoom and launch dsdoom from the root of your sd, if you save just at the beginning of the stage 2, it should work, normally dsoom will generate to the root of your sd a file named :

    prbmsav0.dsg

    *(0 for the first block of the savegame box of the game)

    The savegame option seems to work only if the .nds file is placed where the others dsdoom files are, it seems that all the files needs to be together to get the savegame option.
     
    Last edited by Indy13, Jan 27, 2019
  2. Chrisxdxl

    Chrisxdxl Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got ds doom and I got it working just fine but then I decided to see what the different screen modes where. I changed it to single and played for a bit, when I turned it back on the screen with the settings on boot said it was back to dual. So I set it to console and after playing with that decided to put it back to dual, upon restarting my ds and making sure it was set to dual screen I started the game but it was still on console screen. I restarted made sure, tried switching to single screen but it was still showing console. What could I do to fix this
     
  3. Indy13

    Indy13 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    France
    You can try to remove PRBOOM.CFG file on your sd and change it by a copy/paste with the original PRBOOM.CFG file (from the dsdoom archive)

    If it still doesn't work do the same with tranmap.dat file
     
  4. Bonny

    Bonny GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Country:
    Germany
    Can DsDoom SVN be launched without a flashcard on a NDSi with Hiya CFW? I copied all files in the nds folder of the SD card, as i tried to launch it, i only got a white screen...
     
  5. LunaticShock

    LunaticShock Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    I can't figure out how to make this work on Twilight Menu++ (9.0.2) on my 2DS but I read it's possible, what do I have to do?
    I'm loading this from sd card.
    Sorry for necro :c
     
  6. Clik

    Clik Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there, I don't have a way to put this on my card atm but I was looking through the changelog, I have a couple questions.
    1: Does automap work?
    2: Can I use old control style

    I know it's a Necro, I don't care
     
  7. CL0UTM4N

    CL0UTM4N Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Australia
    bit late but yeah i got it working on mine lol
     
  8. Ajlr

    Ajlr GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Philippines
    How to edit prboom.cfg to support more wads like Chex Quest, Chex Quest 2, Chex Quest 3, and Strife?
     
  9. Ajlr

    Ajlr GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Philippines
     
  10. Nikokaro

    Nikokaro Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello. I don't know if you have already solved the problem, but to play chex (or other boom compatible wad) you have to edit prboom.cfg with dsorganize (or other DS file manager) and add the line 'Wads / chex.wad' in quotes after wadfile_1, where Wads is the name of the folder where the wad is located (you can put a different folder name). You will need to do the same with the .deh file, if your specific wad requires it.
     
  11. Nikokaro

    Nikokaro Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello. If anyone wants to play Freedoom1/2 on Dsdoom, I recommend not to use the latest version (2019) because it is not fully compatible with Boom/Prboom, it crashes often and especially the midi format of the music is not supported. Instead the old version 0.9 (2014) is mainly Boom compatible and the music, being in .mus format, works well. Unfortunately saving, even if more rarely, crashes and turns off the console, but this happens with almost all custom megawads.
     
  12. Nikokaro

    Nikokaro Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Italy
    After a more thorough examination I have to correct myself. The most recent version of Freedoom, whose midi bgms are not compatible with dsdoom, crashes more rarely after saving than the older versions, which however have listenable bgms (.mus format). In the end I recommend the latest version combined with a music.wad created with midi2mus tool; some suitable ones are found in Doomworld archives and date back to the 90s.
     
    XDel likes this.
  13. Nikokaro

    Nikokaro Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't know if the topic is of interest to anyone, but I was able, using xwe/midi2mus tools, to convert the music inside the Freedoom 1/2 ( v0.12.1) wads to .mus format. Both bgms now work fine with DSdoom, and the audio quality is decent. Unfortunately most of the time both crashes when saving, both on DS phat and DS lite, I suppose due to their limited RAM memory. It may be that on DSi, and even more so on 3DS, this does not happen. I wait for someone to confirm it. The only alternative I have found is to start DSdoom via Hbmenu and the command line '-warp e m' inside an .argv file, selecting the episode and map to start from.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - DsDoom,