ds wep key to short???

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Frogman, May 1, 2010.

May 1, 2010

ds wep key to short??? by Frogman at 12:29 PM (2,278 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Frogman
    OP

    Member Frogman This could be you!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Aus
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey,
    On my dsi the internet browser works fine though when i set up the connection i had to use advanced set up and it wotked fine but while trying to connect to tje internet in games the interface that comes up on all games comes up and when i put in my code it says invalid but its not and if i put a space at the end it will work no problem just at the end it says wrong wep code so idk what to do btw it has a red lock next to it idk if thats imp
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The red lock means it is WEP, but DS mode doesn't have access to the Advanced Setup, so you need to use the basic set up for most DS games.
     
  3. Frogman
    OP

    Member Frogman This could be you!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Aus
    Country:
    Australia
    yEa I know lol but hat I'm saying is the wep code is invalid as soon as I type it in though if I put a space after the code which is originaly 15 leters long it let's me continue until the connect test where
    it says it is incorrect wep code not invalid as before
     
  4. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    When you are using the DSi browser, what is your encryption method? Meaning, are you 100% sure you are using WEP and 802.11b only? Are you sure that you have told your cart that doing wireless things are ok?
     
  5. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WEP keys are either 10 or 26 digits long, and only contain the numbers 0-9 and letters A-F.

    If you're certain your router is set to WEP, then it sounds like you might be trying to type in an easy-to-remember passphrase instead of the actual key which won't work on the DS, you need to type in the full key which you can read from the router's settings page.
     
  6. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I know some modems have the WEP key on a label, my 2wire modem for instance, they're usually in [these types of brackets]. Are you 100% sure your putting in the right key?
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    In your start/globe menu, go to the "run" command. If you're on vista/7, you'd use the little white box near the bottom. Type in "CMD" and press CTRL+SHIFT+ENTER.

    In the black box that comes up, type "ipconfig" and press enter. It'll list a series of four numbers as your "default gateway". Write those down. Go open any web browser, and enter the four numbers (like 192.168.x.x) into the address bar, and press enter.

    A login box should come up. The username should be "admin" or blank, and the password can be anything from "admin" to "administrator" "pass" to "password" or "password1", or something else if you've set it differently. Ask whoever set up the router what the password to get into it is, or check this page.
    http://www.phenoelit-us.org/dpl/dpl.html

    Then you'll be able to find the actual key, instead of the passphrase, as Psyfira said.
     
  8. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or yeah you could do that. Why didn't I think of that?
     

Share This Page