Nexthat

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi guys.

I'm new to all of this; But I have a cartridge with about 50 odd games, purchased from wherever and now I have the following error:

"error open xmenu.dat error!"

There was another post who had a similar problem, but it seemed as though this guy had the software and hardware to fix the problem via their PC, which I do not have,ableit PC only.

So if someone don't mind, can you explain what I need in terms of software and how to link DS to PC in order to fix this error.

I appreciate the help .

Many thanks.

leinad

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Gambia, The
What you've got is called N-Card (or probiably a clone of it)

Normaly it's sold with a GBA-Module, from which you can connect your PC with the DS.

xmenu.dat is a file which is needed on the card to start.

Before I write more, do you have that USB-Linker :x ?

Nexthat

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Unfortunately not.

I just googled it, but can you confirm that I require the following:

1x DS Linker (DS Cartridge sized)
1x USB cable
1x USB writer cartridge

After which, what do I do next.

Rizsparky

Saiyan Prince
Trophies
XP
Country
Yup, you need all three items to fix the problem. but to access the cart via a pc you need the other two items that you dont have so the next step would be buying these extra items.

Nexthat

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Ok, so once I have this hardware do I do the following ( written from another post by Paul1991, http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=68847 )

'...Go to gbatemps download section and find the 1.45 upgrade file. Paste ONLY the xmenu.dat to your card....'

I'm assuming that the upgrade file contains the xmenu.dat file which I can then drag and drop into the DS linker ?

Many thx so far for the help.

Artheido

Trophies
Website
artheido.wordpress.com
XP
Country
Nexthat said: