Gaming DS Lite not booting up

haddad

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
691
Country
Canada
Hi, I just got my friend's DS Lite to try to fix. The problem is that as soon as I turn it on, the screen becomes white for less then 1 second and turns off suddenly (green light also turns off)

So basically, I cannot turn it on. What can I do?
 

InuYasha

Professional Coke Fiend
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
1,777
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
368
Country
United States
Option 1 Needs new battery(about 20 bucks for an offical one if you buy from nintendo).

Option 2 Blew a fuse,no clue how you would go about doing this cept for sending it to nintendo for a repair.

Option 3 (if they use a flash card) could of downloaded a bad file that wipes the firmware.
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
Since both screens light up for a sec before shutting down, we know for certain F1 and F2 fuse are NOT blown (cause screens receive electricity, meaning circuit is complete). So your friend DS Lite does not have a blown fuse. We can also deduce that battery is working fine.

This leads to even more serious problem, possibly firmware corruption, hardware issue, etc.

Does that DS Lite boot without anything in slot 1 or slot 2? If it still cannot boot without anything in either slot, then there is nothing you can do other than send it in for a repair.
 

Overlord Nadrian

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,647
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Riviera
XP
138
Country
Belgium
Put your DS in a warm place for a while (though make sure it doesn't overheat). The reason why it keeps turning off is because there's water inside it, and putting it in a warm place will get rid of the water in the console. You can apparently also do this by putting it in a bag of rice, but I haven't tried that yet myself so I wouldn't know if it actually works as well as the warm place method.
 

ThePowerOutage

The Lord of the Flyes
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
813
Trophies
0
Location
Vallhallah
XP
267
Country
If the above doesn't work, (an airing cupboard Is a good place for it) upload the contents of your card to mediafire so we can see if their are any ds viruses on it.
 

BORTZ

DO NOT SCREENSHOT
Supervisor
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
13,220
Trophies
3
Age
33
Location
Pittsburgh
XP
15,400
Country
United States
Overlord Nadrian said:
Put your DS in a warm place for a while (though make sure it doesn't overheat). The reason why it keeps turning off is because there's water inside it, and putting it in a warm place will get rid of the water in the console. You can apparently also do this by putting it in a bag of rice, but I haven't tried that yet myself so I wouldn't know if it actually works as well as the warm place method.
I would second the bag of rice method. It kinda pulls posture from the system. Ive heard that works wonders on phones and other electronics that have been submerged in water.
 

Presto99

You slammin, bro?
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
914
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Skyworld
Website
https
XP
288
Country
United States
Sephxus said:
That usually happens when one of the screens is not properly connected. You may need to replace the faulty one.
I second this. This happened with my original DS Phat. Although, it was apparent in my case--the top screen came all the way off eventually. Hopefully this isn't the case here.
 

injected11

Crescent Fresh™
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
1,776
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
152
Country
United States
Sephxus said:
That usually happens when one of the screens is not properly connected. You may need to replace the faulty one.
This is my thought too. You said "the screen" implying only one of the screens turns white for an instant rather than both. This usually means the screen that does not turn white for the instant is the faulty/improperly connected screen.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country
If it is indeed that your friend has run a bricker on his DS (which is unlikely unless he tries to pirate ROMs off dodgy sites, as the brickers are hard to find on the internet AFAIK), then the only way to fix it is to dismantle his and another DS Lite, start FlashMe on the working DS Lite, switch the BIOS chips between the DS Lites and finish running FlashMe, then switch the BIOS chips back.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nice to know that
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Cheapest I found $230 tax/s&h
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Sihuuu Taco Holder Stand set of 2 - Holds up to 3 tacos in each Taco Tray - Sturdy, Dishwasher and Microwave Safe https://a.co/d/6FFlct5 What kind of tacos are even in those racks
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What's that, ham and cheese?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I often stick some ham and cheese in a tortilla and toast it but I wouldn't dare call it a taco.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I guess ice cream in a taco is still a taco
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The product placement in the fantasy football movie is werid it starts out with a psp then goes to the series x
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There's a fantasy football movie?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I bet you can't believe it's about Madden
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I can't believe it's not butter.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lebron James did help produce it so it can't be that shit right
  • cearp @ cearp:
    kennie'snewname is now the old name???
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Woah! Kenny has changed it name?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp, Hey there!
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I prefer it/idiots as my pronouns thank you
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol theirs a cheat code for 30/60fps for new pOKEmoNz for ryujinx
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    So to have echo auto you need your phone connected to BT audio then the echo auto connected to your phone
  • brouh @ brouh:
    Hey, how can i contact the admins to see if there is something blocking the views of my post
  • brouh @ brouh:
    alr thx
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @brouh if you can see it, then other people can see it too
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: @brouh if you can see it, then other people can see it too