DS Iplayer Compatible with Evolution?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Matthew, Jan 13, 2010.

Jan 13, 2010
  1. Matthew
    OP

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I found this on the Chinese SuperCard Forum as its in Chinese I was relying on Google Translate:

    Does anyone have a better translation as it seems to me that the Iplayer will support the new Evolution Firmware.

    I may be completely wrong.
     


  2. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    If it does i'm not getting a SCDS2.
     
  3. korg

    Newcomer korg Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    the chinese does say that. was this posted by an official developer or mod? do u have a link?
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just wonder though.....a cart with the iPlayer chip in it would just have to eat the batteries like nobody's business.

    I remember how the CycloDS was before they added battery saver mode compared to my old original R4. I got like half the battery life out of the Cyclo.....once they added battery saver though, the battery life became comparable to the R4.
     
  5. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The build of EOS i have doesnt run on my iplayer.
     
  6. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Reportedly, when the extra hardware isn't in use, it's off and not consuming any extra battery power. I can't confirm this myself, but from what I've read of those who've tested it out on this forum...
     
  7. niu

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    SC DSTWO also have power-saving mode, but can be expected, the card will still eat battery than any other card.

    EOS is currently mainly DSone/SDHC/i
    Guess DSTWO will use a different EOS

    In fact I am not optimistic about DSTWO
     
  8. cornaljoe

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    Is it available already? I think this is talking about the DS2 version of EOS. I figured the iPlayer would be compatible with EOS. If not someone was probably going to try to hack it to work. I can't wait to try it out as my iPlayer is sleeping in it's case atm.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    That would be an interesting idea. Unfortunately I don't think any of the people who got the beta Evolution OS have an iPlayer to test it with at the moment.
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm skeptical. Sounds more like a Google Translate fail.

    I'm pretty certain they wouldn't go and lose DSTWO sales like that. After all, if it is the same hardware, people would just go for an iPlayer, and they would lose a lot of money. Also the whole aim of the iPlayer was not having commercial ROM support.

    I don't see this as happening.
     
  11. cornaljoe

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    The iPlayer was probably a marketing strategy by the Supercard Team to see if actually making the DS2 (mainly developing EOS) would be cost effective. They also could use it as a way to increase sells. People who got an iPlayer wanted ROM support and would probably jump all over the DS2 because it has what the iPlayer doesn't. I could be way off base with this, but it's becoming more evident over time. Guess time will tell. /conspiracy theory #1345662
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You would probably have to hack the bootstrap to load the evo firmware like the SCDS2 would in this case, other than that we will not know until they release it with firmware for someone to compare before they can make such a statement that it can or can not use.
     
  13. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    As far as I read in the official English forums, is more like the GBA emulator for the Iplayer is compatible with the EOS. And yes, it appears the IPlayer was a marketing test for the SCDSTWO
     
  14. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    PharaohVizier has the beta firmware and has a iPlayer
     
  15. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ask it to him if he would!
     
  16. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I posted above that it doesnt fucking work, can't you fuckers read?
     
  17. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    It seems that most members ignore your posts. You tell us that AKAIO isn't dead but people still post is AKAIO dead.
     
  18. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This isn't a very technical thread on loading the SCDS2 firmware on the iPlayer, it is mostly speculation and posturing on maybes. That is why your ignored.
     
  19. cornaljoe

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, I was thinking that when I saw that post but didn't comment. If I'm not mistaken I believe the current betas only work on DS1 not DS2.
     
  20. Uncle FEFL

    Member Uncle FEFL OBJECTION!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    PM me for Social Security information
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you get the EOS from?
     

Share This Page